The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

History from the smallest scale to that of humanity and outer space gives us numerous insights in terms of observing the present. The main gist of learning history is to understand and interpret the world according to resources of the various sociocultural contexts. By learning the past, we are able to objectify the position in which we are standing and put the present in the flux of subtle material changes. While some argue that studying history is to discern the significant differences among time and space, others believe that history makes us realize that the past is fundamentally analogous to today’s world. This essay will evaluate the importance of studying history according to two disparate perspectives, thereby arguing that a balanced perspective is needed to provide insights for managing our present.

Firstly, in terms of looking into the similarities of past and present incidents, we acknowledge that rudimentary elements such as living and foraging have always been put in priority. The human instinct to be affiliated to a social group has been constant throughout all time, which gave us a clarified point of view towards the tendency of human species. Furthermore, essential feelings such as love, hatred, fear, and lament are also common features of human beings. Especially when looking into the realm of fear and hatred that had been depicted in our ancestors’ experiences and historical episodes, we are likely to receive insightful clues in order to overcome the negative feelings that we share in currently ongoing issues. Let us take an example of historical instances that are related to the advent of new technology. When massive reproductive tools of literary publishings were first invented in the modern era, surprisingly many intellectuals at the time tended to consider them as the devil’s chicanery. In fact, the Gutenberg revolution aroused many controversies and confusion among aristocrats and priests. They had been in fact in a fearful state of mind due to the possibility that ignorant groups of people might be recalcitrant and raise their voice against the authority. Similarly, we are now facing a change in social media due to a tremendous expansion of the internet and virtual world. While many established groups have been vilifying the counter effects of these newly introduced media, others are trying to reveal hidden narratives of minority groups which may be a potential for a fundamental change in the ideological thoughts and beliefs.

On the other hand, history gives us the clue how different the current environment is from that of the past. There are numerous unprecedented challenges such as massive climate change and globalization, which are not to be found in our predating historical notes. That is, in terms of facing and alleviating these problems we are almost new born children who are inept in dealing with the challenges. Nevertheless, history can be helpful in terms of objectifying our position and being in a reasonable status. For example, the ongoing conflicts among nations have been exacerbated due to a globalized atmosphere. But by pondering upon the previous incidents of collective conflits and the violence of past wartime, we shall be able to raise significant differences between now and then and come up with clues in order to enhance the conflicts.

The conclusion now stands that tracing back the history of human species shall be helpful in various ways. We are able not only to discern ourselves from the past characteristics, but also see essential similarities throughout time and space.