It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

We, human beings are social creatures. We can not live in isolation. Though it’s true that a well-groomed individual must possess a certain didactic traits on their own, but it is the tendency of human to mingle among their favored groups, that defines an individual from a social perspective. Various groups have a footprint in the proper functioning of a society.

Firstly, in a society, according to the eligibility criteria and qualifications, people get affiliated to various professional groups. Like every field of specialization in medicine has their own professional groups and like-wise in every specializations of engineering, law, science and so on. Professors and research students are affiliated to various publishing companies of international repute to publicize their research among the research fraternity. Such groups provide platforms among its like-minded members to share their experiences and enrich their own knowledge in their field of practice. So, individuals does identify their talents through the critical appreciation of their own ideas in such a reputable platform, thereby encouraging them to work more harder in future.

Secondly, apart from one’s own profession, a person can definitely be affiliated to certain other social groups sharing same hobbies and leisure-time activities. This will make them utilize their vacation with hobbies and interest in a better and fulfilling way. People can learn each-others interests and keep oneself updated with the latest developments in their interest areas. Swimming, flying students’ aircraft are some really cool hobbies people can possess while joining such specialized groups.

Thirdly, using social media platforms today, we can keep ourselves in touch with our old school and college friends and thereby cherishing our old moments of our life. We can leave our busy present to dive into the ocean of ecstatic past, and establishing a different us.

Finally, while joining various social groups of our interests, we should carefully scrutinize the fact that the group’s ideologies and moral values match our own moral and ethical standards. Some groups spread rumors and should not be tolerated. Also, we should avoid groups that spreads instability in society by using politically stimulus claims and goes against secularist, democratic ideas of humanity. Given properly utilized, social groups do truly define ourselves.