All parents should be required to volunteer time to their children's schools.

It is of no doubt that behind the all-round development of a child, both their parents and teachers have equal contributions. The issue whether parents should also volunteer their time to the schools is a matter of debate though.

Well, not all parents are sufficiently educated. Also it might happen that they are carrying out some physical laborious jobs and not in touch with books for a pretty long time. They can’t positively contribute to the process of teaching in schools. Also there may be situations where, even though they may be extremely knowledgeable, they might be doing a very tough or hectic job and not in a position to spare time for volunteering. They may be a busy doctor, a civil service officer of a country, or an officer of the armed forces. Also they might be staying in a different place altogether by virtue of their job. So it will be highly imprudent to think that such parents can also manage time to teach in schools.

But on the other hand, those parents, who are having some free time to spare and also have relevant experiences can be encouraged to volunteer to their children’s schools given that they are capable of understanding the child psychology properly. Such noble jobs are definitely not suitable for short-tempered parents. It is a hard truth that teachers are good at imparting bookish knowledge only. But working parents can make students understand the real world challenges faced by individuals outside academia. Such idea will definitely be helpful for shaping the future of students. An engineer parent can teach mechanics, physics, chemistry and mathematics courses to students may be once or twice a week. Some parents may be more brilliant than conventional teachers and can help students understand critical concepts easily. A historian can make learning history enjoyable in schools. Also schools may encourage eligible parents to address motivational talks in schools occasionally.

Let’s us look at it from a different perspective now. The idea of small classroom size each with less than 20 students is also being implemented now-a-days. So small classroom implies higher cost of infrastructure and more requirement of teachers. Now getting sufficiently qualified teacher is indeed a great challenge for the school administration. So some highly qualified parents can definitely contribute their knowledge in such scenarios. Also, parents can volunteer their time in the day-to-day running of the school administrating committee and place their valuable inputs for the both short and long term development of school.

So finally, schools should weigh out their needs and necessities and they may encourage certain eligible parents to contribute to education only after a careful scrutiny. Then only such a step can be very effective, else it will be a total chaos.