The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The Board of Directors of the Monarch Books recommends the opening of a café by discontinuing its children’s book section to attract more customers. This recommendation put forth by the board of directors is not based on solid reasoning and raises a lot of questions.

Firstly, Monarch Book store is twenty years old with a large customer base. It is beyond doubt that buyers of books are the knowledge-seeking intellectual folks of the society. Such individuals are always looking for the best, reliable and trustworthy booksellers to cater their needs and not looking for a café. There are lot of companies specializing in café management that caters entertainment needs. So café is indeed not a point of attraction for serious book-lovers. Well if there is a café then there will be some café customers who can turn up for a sip of coffee and snacks and of course not for books.

Secondly, Monarch Books is planning to open the café by shutting down the children’s book section which I think is a very illogical decision. The fact is that Monarch has the reputation of selling a wide selection of books. So, such reputation will definitely be hampered and for a business entity reputation should be given the utmost preference. Also the national census data can not be relied upon in this context since it is quite possible that the locality is possessing an exception in the population percentage less than age ten. Even if census data forecasts correctly, there will always be some demand (may be less slightly) of child books and also there may be some adults who enjoy reading children’s books. So, Monarch should not discontinue the children’s book section and instead may reduce its size and increase the size of other most demanding sections, but café should not be a replacement.

Thirdly, Regal Books is a new foray into the business of book selling and they are trying to attract café customers to buy books. But book-lovers really do not look for a café and in order to gain reputation among genuine book lovers Regal Books will need to build up its own reputation through better customer service, stocking better and widest range of books etc. Since Monarch Books is already having a upper hand in these regard as compared to Regal Books, so it is not prudent for the Monarch Books to open a café in its store. All café customers are definitely not genuine book-lovers and genuine book-lovers search for the best book sellers barring any attractions.

Well, finally, we can say that it may be a good idea to open a café for some refreshments of the customers of Monarch Books if any specific book section of the store is not compromised and the company’s reputation remains intact. If Monarch can accrue a separate area for the café, then this idea will not be that bad though.