Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Laws are created to make sure there is no prevalence of injustice to any kind of people with respect to color, creed, gender, class etc. They engender harmony in a society. The author says that the laws should be flexible enough to accommodate circumstances, times and places. In my opinion, laws should not be flexible enough to take into account circumstances, times and places for the reasons stated below.

Firstly, the laws are made so that the people for whom the laws apply do not break them. If people break them, the very purpose of maintaining laws is lost. The lawyers who make the laws take into consideration the consequences of breaking a law and hence, make it mandatory to not be flexible in implementing the law. For example, let us take the case of the laws governing nuclear policies around the world. Strict laws regarding the nuclear policies were brought into effect after a deadly atomic bomb was dropped on Japan during the Second World War. These laws are devised in such a way that would discourage the countries in developing the nuclear programs and thus maintain peace among the nations. If the nations were allowed to develop nuclear programs based on circumstances, times and places, it would obliterate not only the participating nations but also destroy the human race as a whole.

Secondly, flexible laws can impede the growth of a nation. For instance, let us consider the example of India. In India, there are laws to check the corruption just as any developed nation would have. But the extent to which they are implemented in India is very negligible. Consequently, it is due to this leniency in implementation of corruption laws, the development in India is very slow and haphazard. For example, I lost my bike and lodged a complaint. The police ask for bribery to start an investigation. For the need of mine, I agree to pay bribery to the Police. It is because I feel it is fine to indulge in bribery to get my work done, I agree to take bribery in the future as well. This illegal flow of cash will have an adverse effect on the country's growth as a whole inadvertently.

However, in the realms of our discussion, we cannot overlook a few exceptions where making flexible laws would prove to be more benevolent than malevolent. In India, there has been a strong aversion towards LGBT community both socially as well as legally since a very long time. With increasing numbers and unraveling of scientific evidence that bisexuality is a natural phenomenon in due course of time, it has become imperative for the government to amend the archaic laws to grant the basic rights and uphold their dignity. Consequently, people of various kinds started living in harmony where everyone has their place in the community.

For the reasons stated above, it is essential that the laws are strictly followed and are not amended based on circumstances, times and places. However, they can be flexible when it serves a larger purpose than serving specific to individuals.