Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Laws are the basic principles of our day-to-day life. It provides us a set of rules and regulations to follow. Every society needs proper set of laws to govern them, and to make sure that people do not cross the line confined by law. However, we cannot generalize every situation and circumstance under a set of laws, and hence it becomes important that laws are flexible enough to take into consideration different circumstances and situations while serving a justice. We cannot apply same law in each situation. It has to be flexible. Change and flexibility are required for growth.

There are many laws in general. Violation of law can take place in different form. Circumstance could be different while violating the law. There are different laws for different situations. Within a particular type of crime also, the situation might be different. Hence while taking a decision, one has to keep in mind circumstance of a particular case. For example, we have to take into consideration, whether the law has been violated, intentionally, unintentionally, deliberately, for fun or for money.

There are many examples in history that makes you think in favor of flexibility of laws. For instance, in past, son was only considered as the legal heir of the family, but as the time has progressed, and women and have started fighting for their rights, this law has now changed and made in favor of everyone equally. Now every child of the parents has equal rights in being the heir of the family's assets. Not only this but there is one more perspective that have come into the picture and that is the will of the dying person. The dying person have a right in deciding where the assets belonging to him/her will go.

Similarly, you cannot give same punishment to two people who have killed someone for two different reasons. There is a possibility that one of them have killed someone deliberately while other might have killed in the process of self-defense. This is a violation of law but in two different circumstances. Having a rigid law structure will surely help the judge and system to punish the criminal, but in order to take into consideration an unforeseen circumstance, the law has to be flexible. There is no doubt that having a rigid law structure will instill the fear in the minds of people before they do something wrong, but we also have to provide safety and security in the case of the unforeseen circumstance or situation.

In conclusion, there should be balance between the two aspects. There should be solid law structure for guiding the judge and the law system to install rules and regulations. As this gives the society a sense of security and stability and faith in the justice system. However, at the same time, there should be flexibility, when it comes to applying the law in different situation or under different circumstance. There should be scope of modifying the existing and fading laws for the development of the society and justice to people.