Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

As the civilization grows and the conception of society is form, and everyone who works and live in the society needs to be regulated, and thus the human made the law. But the society is forever changing, the mind in people are changing day by day, so some argue that laws should be flexible and should take account of situations, times and space. I mostly agree with the idea in the following two reasons.

To begin with, law is a serious thing and it should be fixed. If the law is changed so often, law itself may lose its power, which will induce a impression that the law is weak and can be challenged. In this way, law is no longer a tool to regulate people, but a thing to entertain, which is not tolerated. For example, in the very end of every dynasty in ancient China, the government and the emperor, being corrupted, cannot manage the nation good enough. They changed the law a lot, or they do not even rely on the law to settle down problems. And in that period, the society is a mess, that crime, theft and burglar happen everywhere. In this way, law is nothing after being too flexible according to the governor’s will.

That is being said, nowadays the society is rapidly changing and some issue that was seen as wrong or illegal was actually mistaken. For example, Turing, known as the inventor of computer, was homosexual and during that time, homosexual is illegal, since it might controvey some religion spirit. After being recognized as homosexual, Turing was punished heavily, which result him in suicide. But now we all know that there are many kinds of love and affection, besides male and female, thus we change the law to correct the previous mistake. Laws need to be flexible so that we can correct the mistake our history has made.

Also, similar thing might have different causes and motivations, thus law should be flexible. There are some murder cases, in which the murderer is actually the defender who protect himself or anyone else against the ill-intended person, but unfortunately kill the bad guy. If the law is not flexible enough and do not give then inspector enough time to dig out the truth, there would be so many people being punished because of the guilty that does not belongs to them.

Law is a serious thing, and a sophisticated one as well. Law is never piles of paper, and law is law only when law is correctly applied by the judge. In this way, law should be flexible enough to correctly judge the bad from the good. To realize such ultimate goal, we human being still has a long way to go.