Should laws be flexible or fixed? I believe that laws not only set rules for detalied activities of daily life, but also embody the shared values of a society. Though laws need to take special circumstances into consideraton we tackling everyday issues, when it comes to some fundamental principles, such as the protection of public welfare and freedom, I am not agreed that laws should be 'flexible'. For a flexible laws may fail to protect fundamental principles and erode the integrity of laws itself.

I agree with the statement insofar as with flexible laws, some variations of circumstances, times, or places could be taken into account. Laws are not only meant to set principles, but also guide people' s everyday life. However, our life is greatly changable and diversified, rendering a universal guidance almost impossible. For some ethnic minorities or religious groups, education, marriage, and families may be different from mainstream society. If we are to regulate all people in a nation with fixed laws, for example, to demand every citizen finish 10 years of education, it may be constract and thus erode the cultural traditions of some aborignial groups. To conclude, our society is composed of diversified cultural mores, social values, and economic conditions, so the law guiding people's life should take differences into account to better suit various circumstances.

However, though social life is highly diversified to establish a universal guidance, I am not fully agree with the statement in two respects. Firstly, laws, though can be flexible in some everyday issues, should set principles regarding to more fundamental matters. Secondly, being too 'flexible' may erode the integrity of laws.

Laws are not only guiding our everyday life, but also the symbols of social values and beliefs, which should not be altered. There are some constancy in human nature, on which laws should based. For example, every society suffers from violence and crime. To punish them is what laws should do whatever situations or places are. Moreover, laws are established to protect fundamental values in a society, which is not subjected to changes. For example, the First Amendment protects our rights to express freely and crticize the authority. If a nation, under special circumstances, such as protecting national security, amends the laws to punish those who speak against the government, it is eroding our shared values. To conclude, though situations are always changing, some basic principles of laws are not subjected to change, so does the law itself.

Moreover, if laws are altered according to times, spaces, or circumstances, it may erode the integrity of laws as well as those principles behind the laws. For example, it is a shared belief that we should express freely. However, if we change laws and under special circumstances, for example, claiming it is okay to punish those who criticize the authority when a nation is in a war with another. However, doing such a thing is to put us on slippery slope. Will other laws, such as punishing violence, be altered under necessity? People in that nation may fear that laws will change due to the wills of government. Thus, nobody will believe that they can be protected by laws, and the integrity of laws will also be eroded.

To conclude, under some daily issues, laws need to take special situations into account. However, when treating our shared values and fundamental principles, laws should not be altered so as to ensure its integrity and protect those ideas we treasure commonly.