Laws should not be rigid or fixed. Instead, they should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Laws are guides which governs a speculated number of people and are meant to be obeyed at every point in time. The flexibility of laws should be encouraged because of different circumstances that surrounds the particular situation.

As we all know, In a country where there is no law, automatically there won't be a corresponding punishment or offence in such country which could lead to endangered lives, properties and businesses. Laws can be flexible in a scenario where the crime is committed unintentionally; For example my cousin who was in her early 20's was robbed in her apartment and was at the verge of been raped by an intruder but she was able to defend herself by smashing the rapist head with an iron, during the process of self defense, the attacker was unconscious and later died. In that situation, will we say she has broken the law for killing a human being who is unknown to be a rapist? Or we will rather say she killed a human being to save her precious life.

In that case, even if it was taken to court that she broke the law to save her life, therefore she can't be held hostage.

Events happen unintentionally at different places and time, laws can only be enforced but should not be rigid, there should be flexibility due to the circumstances that surrounds such action and no one should be blamed.

Rigidity of laws can cause a great harm to a lot of support that could have been made. For example, I was sick during my penultimate year in school and was admitted in the hospital taking medications and responding to treatment , at this time my course-mates were submitting reports and write-ups which counts as the performance and examination for that year. The law says if any student doesn't participate in the report writing and submission, then it would automatically count as an extra year for such student; meaning the student has failed that year and it implies that while my course-mates are graduating, I will still have an extra year, but based on my past performance to my studies, relationship with my lecturers and advisor, and also character wise and voluntary works, the law was made flexible and I was granted more time to recover from my sickness and submit my writeup which I did and was glad to graduate with my course-mates. What if the law was rigid and not flexible? What if I wasn't granted more time? Would I have had an extra year due to a natural sickness which I had no control over?

These are questions that flexibility in laws answers. I was able to graduate because the authorities were understanding enough to bend rules.

Conclusively, Laws should be made flexible due to the situation, challenge, time, circumstances in which we find ourselves that we have no control over.