Laws should reflect changes in society. Laws should be interpreted based on an individual's circumstances.

Life has always been in stages, eras do come and go, people live and transient to the other world. but one thing is certain, there is always a regulation to guide the actions of people and how they relate with themselves. these laws can range from individual beliefs, known as principles, to societal code of conducts called ethics and to the larger group of people unified by a common factor; tribe, geographical location, nation etc. In spite of all these, it is important that societal law changes to reflect changes in times as well.

The world lived in decades ago was rudiment, devoid of any form of modern civilization and too basic to impose the rules of such a society in a technologically advanced nations like we have today. it is no gainsay to argue that rules were formed based on the happenings of the society and according to their level of civilization. With advancement in technological revolutions, it is vastly impossible to assume that the imposition and limitation placed by some rules in the early century should still be effective. As a very basic example, an average African would definitely prohibits his children from having anything to do with strangers at the wee hours of the day. The rule will definitely hold no water in the present days of having the world as a global village with no restrictions on the amount of interaction one can have with people of all race with the use of social media.

To further argue, the lack of proper education by majority of the early generations means a small group of people were deciding an organize form of laws that society follows. they are the ones to set the pedestal of what is generally tenable in the society in a system of government that is largely ruled by the few eminent learned personalities. this is in stack contrast to the current generation that have young brainy individuals that can push for change with laws that do no conform with thier ideology. this is even more achievable with a unified voice through the use of social media to push for reforms. Obviously, changes are inevitable to satisfy the tastes of the teeming population as a result of their exposure.

With all these, there are arguments that the law should be interpreted based on individual circumstances and condition. this will proof to be nothing but a farce. An inherent nature of human being is to antagonise things that are not in his favor. if law is to be treated based on individual circumstances, hardly could we have anyone charged guilty of any offense, since all offenders would always have a strong, compelling reason to back up his actions. these reasons might seem trivial and frivolous in the eyes of others, but going by the culprits perspective, it is not insignificant which shifts the power of the law to his sides. naturally, human biasedness is inherent in his creation.

In as much as the societal laws should change to reflect changes in the society, the basic fundamental laws to protect lives, property and sanity to be protected. if anything, they should not be made less of what was tenable in the years past. there should be a common ground for which laws should be spelt to guide against the fundamentals, the breach of which can be perilous to human lives. Instead, the laws relating to comfort of living, relationship with people, and all other form of 'secondary laws' should reflect the common belive of the society as it changes.