Leaders are created by the demands that are placed on them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Vince Lombardi once claimed that “leaders are not born, they’re made,” meaning that being a good leader and the qualities associated, are developed and not inherent. However, how are these traits nurtured? One keyway in which these traits are fostered is during demanding dilemmas, in which one must hone their craft and take charge. It is for this reason I strongly agree that leaders are created by the demands that have been placed on them, if and only if, they follow through on appeasing these demands.

Consider the President of the United States, their entire leadership platform is based on the demands of their constituents. It is on these demands that they build their cabinet and advise the other branches of government. It is how they develops their policy agenda and lead the country. The President of the U.S. is often referred to as the “leader of the free world,” so there are not only demands from domestic interests, but there are also international demands that must be considered. A counter argument can be made that leaders don’t need to follow through. Take former president Trump as an example, he promised to build a border wall between the U.S. and Mexico, in which he failed to follow through. He also failed to address the COVID-19 crisis accurately and attentively. However, if a leader does not take charge and appease the standards placed on them, are they really a leader at all? It is for this reason I believe that a leader is only created when they rise to meet the demands of them, and this has been achieved in the civil rights sector.

Continuing with Martin Luther King Jr., a man who observed racial injustices and inequities among communities of color, he rose to the challenge and met the demands of his supporters. King grew up a man of color and leaned into a belief in nonviolent protest, in which he was inspired by Gandhi during a trip in India in 1959. He noticed to silent demand of the African American community to be equal to the white man and took it upon himself to enact change he wished to see in the world. With rising support came criticisms of his practices. A counter argument can be made here that King failed to follow through on the demands that he alters his course to more violent action. However, towards the end of his life King noticed that his support base no longer believed in his nonviolent tradition, as such he adjusted his ways. Not supporting violent action but condoning riots as a “special form of violence” intended not to seize property or control, but to shock the white community. It is possible for leaders to adapt as the demands of them shift and thus, become even stronger leaders because of this.

Being a leader does not mean being perfect, if this were true there would be no leaders. However, there is a level of duty expected when a human takes on the role of a leader. They are accepting responsibility over entire companies, countries, or movements, which can sometimes mean protecting the best interests of hundreds of millions. Being a leader is about knowing how to do what is required, not every demand placed on one can be met, but the strive to meet demands is what differentiates leaders from the masses.

Overall leaders are created by the demands placed upon them and the subsequent difficult situations that put their qualities to the test. It is only when people can deliver on these demands by making difficult decisions that they transcend and become leaders.