The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of this article professes that for businesses to “prosper,” it should only hire those who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night. According to a recent study, which rated male and female advertising executives on their sleep hours, there is an association between those who need 6 hours of sleep or less, and company prosperity. It is understandable how the author would believe this line of logic; however, this argument is riddled with holes and assumptions, so it lacks logical support.

Firstly, there is the assumption that there is no other cause for the link between higher performance and executive sleeping habits. While the minimal sleep on behalf of administration could suggest that they spend more time working and increasing growth, it is also possible that this is not the case. An increase in profits or accelerated growth could be attributed to an increase in stock prices, desaturation of the market, or increased shareholder investment. It also could have little to do with sleep habits and be solely personal abilities to run a business efficiently. If this is the case, hiring only people who need less sleep will have no overall impact on success. This also begs to question the study itself and its overall accuracy.

Secondly, it is assumed that this study is accurate and is representative of all executives. This research is based on an average, and averages inherently have a high end and low end that contribute to them. While this case suggests that 6 hours or less of sleep is prime for bringing in revenues, there are likely some executives in this study who function better on 7 hours of sleep, or even possibly 8 or 9. There are also other factors to consider when comparing sleep patterns of individuals. Such factors as age, gender, race, and health issues contribute to an individual’s sleep patterns. A majority of those in the study could have been older people, who tend to sleep less overall. If this is the case, this study is not representative or accurate, and does not provide sufficient support for this argument.

Finally, the assumption is made that association and causation are the same. According to the article there was an “association” established between the 2 variables. In most elementary statistics classes in colleges and universities, professors introduce an important rule to their students, that having a correlation or association between 2 variables does indicate a relationship. However, this does not necessarily mean those 2 variables are causally linked. While there may be an association between sleeping less and company performance, there is not a causal link that has been drawn between the two. Due to this, the findings of this study should not be the only factors considered when hiring employees, as well as evaluating executive performance.

Overall, while there are some cogent points made in this argument, overall, the logic and reasoning are misleading and inaccurate. There are an innumerable number of factors leading to both how humans sleep as well as overall company performance, and simply finding an association between the 2 of these does not provide enough evidence for this to be a successful or complete claim.