“In our time, specialists of all kinds are highly overrated. We need more generalists—people who can
provide broad perspectives."
Specialists are not overrated today. More generalists may be needed, but not to overshadow the specialists.
Generalists can provide a great deal of information on many topics of interest with a broad range of ideas.
People who look at the overall view of things can help with some of the large problems our society faces
today. But specialists are necessary to gain a better understanding of more in depth methods to solve
problems or fixing things.
One good example of why specialists are not overrated is in the medical field. Doctors are necessary for
people to live healthy lives. When a person is sick, he may go to a general practitioner to find out the cause
of his problems. Usually, this kind of "generalized" doctor can help most ailments with simple and
effective treatments. Sometimes, though, a sickness may go beyond a family doctor's knowledge or the
prescribed treatments don't work the way they should. When a sickness progresses or becomes diagnosed
as a disease that requires more care than a family doctor can provide, he may be referred to a specialist.
For instance, a person with constant breathing problems that require hospitalization may be suggested to
visit an asthma specialist. Since a family doctor has a great deal of knowledge of medicine, he can decide
when his methods are not effective and the patient needs to see someone who knows more about the
specific problem; someone who knows how it begins, progresses, and specified treatments. This is an
excellent example of how a generalied person may not be equipped enough to handle something as well as
a specialized one can.
Another example of a specialist who is needed instead of a generalist involves teaching. In grammar
school, children learn all the basic principles of reading, writing, and arithematic. But as children get older
and progress in school, they gain a better understanding of the language and mathematical processes. As
the years in school increase, they need to learn more and more specifics and details about various subjects.
They start out by learning basic math concepts such as addition, subtraction, division, and multiplication.
A few years later, they are ready to begin algebraic concepts, geometry, and calculus. They are also ready
to learn more advanced vocabulary, the principles of how all life is composed and how it functions. One
teacher or professor can not provide as much in depth discussion on all of these topics as well as one who
has learned the specifics and studied mainly to know everything that is currently known about one of these
subjects. Generalized teachers are required to begin molding students at a very early age so they can get
ready for the future ahead of them in gaining more facts about the basic subjects and finding out new facts
on the old ones.
These are only two examples of why specialists are not highly overrated and more generalists are not
necessary to the point of overshadowing them. Generalists are needed to give the public a broad
understanding of some things. But , specialists are important to help maintain the status, health, and safety
of our society. Specialists are very necessary.