Learning is primarily a matter of personal discipline; students cannot be motivated by school or college alone.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I contend that a student’s school or college is not sufficient in motivating him or her to learn effectively. Personal discipline is important, and it plays a primary role in the learning experience.

In order order to highlight how personal discipline is a primary influencer of learning I would like to discuss the Marshmallow experiment, a classic social psychology experiment. This study recruited 100 first graders from the North American subcontinent. Each child was tested separately. A plate of marshmallows was placed in front of each child. The child was told to not eat the marshmallows until the experimenter returned. The experimenter then left the room. The results of the study highlighted that those children who demonstrated self -discipline, the children who didn’t eat the marshmallows till the experimenter returned, were the ones that were more effective at learning and performed better in academics than those who couldn’t resist eating the marshmallows. Thus this study helps draw attention to the fact that irrespective of a student’s academic institution, without self-discipline, one cannot learn effectively.

Another reason why personal discipline is important in learning is because it produces a more conducive environment for learning. The students who are smart learners are who perform the best are usually the most disciplined. They are organized, tend not to disrupt the proceedings of the class and study regularly and diligently without someone telling them to do these things. Consider students who are extremely intelligent but have no sense of personal discipline. They constantly talk in class when the teacher is trying to teach, try to complete exams through immoral ways and do not study regularly. Most often the educator will ignore these students and focus on the ones that exhibit considerable amounts of personal discipline. The disciplined students thus are the receiving end of the educator’s attention which results in a beneficial learning environment for these students. Once again, it is personal discipline that plays a bigger role than the school or college. In the scenario mentioned above the unruly and disciplined students attend the same institution but its their levels of personal discipline that determines how well they will ultimately learn.

While personal discipline is more important, sometimes in rare instances, a school or college can be strong motivators in influencing students with mental disabilities like ADHD to learn effectively. Such students are unable to control their emotions as effectively as students without this disorder. Even with proper and daily medication they tend to be restless in class, find it hard to pay attention, do not dress properly and are sometimes even prone to outbursts of intense anger. Such students also have a tough time completing their homework and studying for exams. Yet despite the fact that these students are not able to maintain a sense of personal discipline, some of them are still able to learn and succeed in life. This is primarily because of the conducive environment of the special schools they attend. They are given special attention by the staff such as extra time to complete exams, after school support and sessions on how to effectively regulate their emotions. Such an environment is a facilitator of learning despite the fact that such students lack personal discipline.

Hence, even though the educational institution one attends is important, if one lacks personal discipline, despite how good and reputed the institution is, one will be immune to learning effectively.