Learning is primarily a matter of personal discipline; students cannot be motivated by school or college alone.

Learning is a never ending process which starts with the birth and continues for the entire lifetime. The process of learning or acquiring knowledge gains importance right from the time a child steps in the school and is subjected to Grading and examination system, which is gets complex over the years. Proper education and learning is pivotal for the proper pschyological and mental growth of children. There are various factors which affect the knowledge and information that a student acquires .Some of which are Internal motivation and burning desire,social environment like school,friends,parents, teachers etc.

Learning is primarily dependent on an individual capability though external factors do play a role in motivating or demotivating a child. A disciplined student is more punctual,hard working , better at time management.All these factors keep a disciplined student away from distractions and he is able to concentrate more on his studies, which ultimately affect his performance. There are example of number of bright students from government schools who have done exceedingly well in board examinations. Lack of proper infrastructure in schools, unavailability of qualified teachers does not stop these students putting in an extra effort. These students are self motivated from inside and follow a strict regime during the course of their studies.

On the other hand there are many students from affluent families who study in rich private schools, which have all the desired infrastructure, but still don’t put the required hard work and end up with poor grades. This shows that the process of learning requires a lot of discipline and hard work.

Role of school,colleges also cannot be undermined in the process of learning. Good Faculty,state of the art infrastructure in labs ,positive competition etc. all are also key in shaping the education that s student ultimately receives. A good school provides a right balance of education which focusses not just on academics but also on extra curricular activities. Its a proven fact that student learn more from these endeavours rather than academics , which is more of a rote learning.

Similarly a good university has a proficient faculty which is very crucial to impart the right knowledge to the students . Presence of up to date equipments in laboratory , gives students an opportunity to enhance their practical knowledge,which is very important in todays thriving global industry.

Also a good university or school generally have majority of bright and talented students which provides the conducive atmosphere for a student to stay motivated and disciplined towards studies.

In the end I would like conclude that though external factors like school, colleges,faculty etc. do have a important role in shaping the knowledge that student acquires, It is the self discipline that in the end matters.