"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

The author here claims that we should invest our resources in unmanned space mission rather than sending men or women into space as it is costly and risky. Stated in this way, author failed to provide many key pieces of evidence and make many unwarranted assumptions to arrive at this conclusion.We have to look depper into these assumptions and missing validation data to prove that the claim made by author does not hold completly due to following flaws.

Firstly, the author states in the first like that manned space flight is costly and dangerous. But, this statement is completely based on the assumption that as and more manned missioned are accomplised the cost and riskyness of manned mission may go down. It may be the case that as manned mission had only started to become common in last couple of decades compared to unnmaned mission which have been undertaken from many dacades by many countries, so they are costlier and risky. But, with more and more manned mission the cost as well as riskyness may become equable or lesser with unnmanned mission and also the cost can become same or lesser with mass production of equipments/rockets required to carry a manned mission.

Secondly, the author taks about the success of series of unmanned space probes and satellities to support his claim. But, here also he takes the assumption that manned mission are less successfull than these unnmanned mission without stating any data points to support these. Also, author should first study if manned and unmanned mission can be equable or not? There are many cases where situations can look similar but depper study reveals that there are many underlying differences.And due to these it is wrong make such correlation without any research data.

Lastly, author claims that great deal of useful information can be gathered without the cost and risk associated with manned mission vs. unmmaned. Here author uses the word "great" as a very vague and subjective term and so cannot be trusted fully while suppporting his claim. It may be the case that yes, unmanned mission had been successful to collect amny vital information but without discussion the cabilities of manned mission vs. unmanned mission, it will be wron to derive at the conclusion that unmanned mission would be able to complete all tasks required in a space exploration mission. There may be many cases where decision making capability of men would be required to execute a task and unmmaned robots won'tbe able to provide us with equyable results.

In conclusion, based on the above there flaws discussed above and underlying assumptions made by author without provide us with addition research data and numbers, it would not be able to reach a conclusive decision. If author would have stated all the required adata and research that he considered while making these assumptions then we could have arrive at an outcome.