Many of the worlds lesser known languages are being lost as fewer and fewer people speak them. The governments of countries in which these languages are spoken should act to prevent such languages from being extinct.

The speaker claims, the government of countries in which languages are being extinct should act to prevent this. I agree with the speaker that some actions must be taken to prevent extinction of languages but, the government will have a minor role in this and the residents of the country will have a major role to play. Native languages are the beams on which the culture of a country stands.

The people of the country should act to preserve their traditions, rituals hence the culture. For instance, the traditional folk tales, songs, legends are originally written in native languages and the loss of this languages with result in loss of native literature. This native literature marks the core of a culture. Thus, people should preserve and pass these to the future generations.

The mear existence of a language empowers an individual and gives a feeling of belonging to a particular culture. This feeling of belonging acts as a great emotional support for an individual even present seven seas across his/her native. For example, an African would feel great amount of zeal when encounters someone from the same clan or native in some other part of the world. This zeal cannot be experienced if the person was the last from his/her clan. In Baluchistan there are only 3 men left who know to speak "Baluchi"(native language of Baluchistan) and the younger generations have adopted Urdu under the oppressive rule of Pakistan. This is a critical loss to the Culture of Baluchistan.

People who cling onto their languages have a sense of pride towards there culture. The entire Europe insists on sticking to their own native language despite the globalized world. The Japanese, Chinese, Korean, etc. stick to their own language in their countries it preserves their old tradition and culture and also gives the a sense of belonging. In India there are several languages spoken, each language comes with different tales, literature, songs making the culture very rich and diverse.

As far as the government is concerned, it can make the native language as a part of curriculum. This will ensure that the language is being passed on to the future generations. Thus the government has a little role to play in preserving a native language.

Hence, it is the people's duty to preserve the language and also feel proud of their culture and traditions. this puts the people in the driving seat when tackling such a problem and a lesser or minor role is to be played by the government.