Many of the world's lesser-known languages are being lost as fewer and fewer people speak them. The governments of countries in which these languages are spoken should act to prevent such languages from becoming extinct."

The speaker asserts that governments of countries where lesser-known languages are spoken should act to prevent these languages from getting extinct. I agree with the speaker, as a country's language represents the face of its culture and signifies the people of that country. In order to maintain an individual identity of a group of people, language plays an indispensible role and to abandon a language altogether would be an injustice to the people speaking it.

In my observation, the indegenious language of any geographical region is part and parcel of the cultural heritage of the region's natives. To preserve this culture and spread it across the world language is the most vital card. A language brings in with it the culture's unique traditions, rituals and beliefs. Thus, when a people's language becomes extinct, it results in the extinctions of its pride, dignity and unique traditions attached to it.

One need look no further than India. In India, there are more than 1600 different dialects spoken all round the country. Each language brings about a distinctive feature with it to add to the pride and dignity of the nation.Therefore, abandoning a lesser known language would diminish some of the ideas brought with it. However, I agree that in today's high-tech world, language barriers cause problems at many places but people have started to live with it by learning newer languages with great enthusiasm and eagerness to get familiarize with them.

Furthermore, learning new languages benefits people in a way such that they have improved memory, better listening skills and ability to think in more than one way for a particular problem. In addition to this, you can take notice of the eccentricities of a language by noting its similarities or differences with another. An example of this is cognates, which are words in different languages that share the same spelling, meaning, and pronunciation.

In sum, preserving indigenous languages is admittedly a worthy goal. It makes the people speaking a particular language proud of it as the language is recognized by everyone and given equal importance as any other well-known language. Moreover, by preserving a language we give importance to its history, its unique ideas, and most importantly the people speaking it. Nevertheless, there may be differences developed between people speaking different languages but, the pros of preserving each and every language are far more than the cons. All in all, I feel, the governments of all the countries should promote each and every language spoken in the country and aspire to people speaking different languages to spread them not only across the country but also outside to the whole world.