Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Internet and mass media has had profound effect over the people of the current generation. With the sudden flux of information all over, it has resulted in drastic changes in the way our systems function. I agree with the view that the shorter attention span has been more or less made up with the enhanced ability to skim through large sets of information.

There is information everywhere now; technology and with improvements in news distrubutiion has lead to a sudden knowledge explosion. From facebook feeds to editorials, same information can be found in different ways. Take for example, a news appearing over an editorial which has laid out coherenly and discussed in detail a recent social change occuring in the society. The same information can be conveniently surmised in a post which sits innocuously on our facebook feeds.

This omnidirectional flow has inadvertenly affected our attention spans. As the information isn't organized, the ability of us to ponder over and delve deep into it has vanished as we are slowly imbibed into a place where we jump from one source to another to form a full body of information.

When given a situation, humans can sustain the change and find their way through hurdles and evolve. The same is now happening with the attention deficit. People are making up for it by developing their skills to sift through large quantities of information which is much needed right now. They can conveniently skim through information and work as efficiently as could be before this change. People have attuned their minds to work in a way which leads to a better output in the current situation.

Complex tasks are broken down into smaller sets. Required information is quickly gathered and the task can be easily worked out without having to follow the traditional approach of thinking deeply into the problem using a traditional set of standards and rules. Periods of longer attention spans are no longer important, but a mere option.

The knowledge explosion also has its fair share of negatives in its bag. Attention span affects the way our brain works. We're no longer able to store the amount of data which was easier for us to hold earlier. We tend to forget trivial things which can often affect relationships, etc. Imagine a situation where you are deeply engrossed in something and forgot your spouse's birthday. It may or may not have severe repurcussions but it is fair to say that such small details are easy to miss with lesser attention spans.

Adding to that, critical reasoning requires a clutter-free mind with a deeper analysis of the topic. It becomes even more difficult now, since people are no longer able to concentrate on the task comfortably.

Overall, even though the advent of internet and mass media has it's fair share of negatives, its benefits far outweigh this. The view that humans are now better equipped to process, comprehend fairly large set of data more or less offsets the decrease in the attention span.