Men and women, because of their inherent physical differences, are not equally suited for many tasks.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

If we open up a history textbook, we find that the war for equality is centuries old. Women have been subservient in the patriarchal society for hundreds of years and the women suffrage movement is not a recent one. Women have been fighting for basic human rights such as right to vote and right to equal opportunities.

Given the inherent biological differences between men and women, I would like to turn to history again to bolster the argument that women have time and again proved themselves to be equally capable as men. Take the World War II for example. The period of 1935-1942 was an immensely critical one where countries were at war with each other, and great number of men were required to fight this war. Men, irrespective of whether they were trained or not, were enrolled into the army and sent off to war. Not only did women support their country and countrymen by taking up roles such as nurses and doctors at the war, but the ones that were left behind stepped forward to take up jobs that were originally believed to be unsuitable for the fairer sex. No stone was left unturned as women took charge at industries, farms, factories and as labourers. Note that not only did these women take charge but they also did the job equally well if not better.

It's not an obscurity that many believe women are not as ambitious as men and more inclined to taking care of the household and family. Hence, they are not suited for leadership roles at the parliament, corporate offices or governing bodies and institutions. I can cite the examples of many exemplary women that have debunked this sentiment. One such example that comes to mind is that of the ex-CEO of PepsiCo - Indra Nooyi. She started off her career as any other employee working at an office that was the bread and butter of thousands of people and one among many women who worked in order to be able to provide some financial support to their household. She worked hard to prove her mettle, not only caring for her family but also devoted to her job, she rose through ranks and was able to hold the position of CEO, which I believe is an admirable feat achieved.

Despite such myriad of examples of marvellous women, it is not a secret that women fight for equal wages and opportunities to this day. Many women even do not get the basic privilege of education and respect. Many are even killed at or before birth.

In conclusion, I would like to say that the patriarchal society is a thing of the past and we, whether men or women, are equally educated and skilful. It's time that we keep aside such differences such as gender discrimination and move forward towards a world that is more egalitarian.