Men and women, because of their inherent physical differences, are not equally suited for many tasks.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The physiologies of men and women are similar yet significantly different at the same time. They involve a list of common bodily functions, and some entirely gender-unique characteristics such as menstruation in women. The differences become much more pronounced after puberty, when both the body and mind begin to mature and develop. The results are multifold, but complex and subtler than is normally perceived. Let us now analyze the position of women in society from the beginning.

When man was not yet "civilized", and only knew to care for his primal needs like hunger, thirst, sleep and carnal instincts, leading to propagation of species, there was no concept of "marriage". Mating was as organic as the other functions; and other than the obvious positions of either gender in this process, man and woman performed the same basic functions. They both helped in hunting food, cooking it, or gathering it from nature, and also both were equally involved in the protection of weaker individuals within their circle, belonging to either sex. Women were thus "equal" to men in every respect. Then eventually, there came the concept of monogamy and then, possibly with the development of religion, though on a primitive level, there came the concept of cementing the ties between mates using the ceremony known as marriage. Slowly, after this, the roles of the woman became centered more on the activities inside the house, and the men took up those outside.

The physical strengths of either sex were quite comparable, and yet the division slowly broadened them to the degree where women were apparently required only for the "lighter" tasks, and slowly, that became their belief and identity. Over the centuries, man has attempted to limit the roles of women to domestic ones, fearful of losing his supreme status in society, gilding this with the promise of "safety", but women have eventually grown out of such bounds, proving time and again that they are capable in every respect, and more, than man in every possible kind of activity. From wrestling, boxing, sword-fight, gunmanship, weight-lifting as well as other martial arts used for combat or sport, to even higher risk activities such as those of mountaineers and astronauts, women have proved their mettle again and again by displaying consistent brilliance. On the other side, literature has seen a vast number of female writers and poets, who have been acclaimed and successful worldwide, sometimes posthumously due to the societal restrictions of patriarchy. Some of the top programmers and coders in the world have been women; for instance, Lord Byron's daughter.

The societies that we name as "uncivilized", i.e. tribal and other such groups still employ the ways of the ancient men, and so their women were, and still are, equal and sometimes greater in status to men, especially in matriarchies. Even though the thinking processes of men and women are fundamentally different due to difference in brain wiring - men box everything down into small compartments in their brains, whereas women connect everything to everything else, often linking this with emotion of some sort, which proves helpful for better memory, and also a difference in perspective and greater eye for detail - they are equally suited to almost all kinds of activities in physical and mental strength, and women only fall short of doing so by lack of confidence drilled into them since centuries of "civilization".