'Moderation in all things' is ill-considered advice. Rather, one should say, 'Moderation in most

things,' since many areas of human concern require or at least profit from intense focus

I agree moderation in all things is ill-considered advice. Innovation of anything requires a depth study of that subject and moderation can't bring depth approach rather it gives a holistic approach. Reaping maximum profits out of any area require intense focus and moderation approach can't provide it. Also, in this interlinked world, mere expertise in one area can't be parameter for success. Information of other areas are also required. Thus moderation in most areas of human concern and expertise in one area is an acceptable verdict.

Moderation can't give the depth knowledge of any area of human concern and without going to the depth one cannot understand the complexity and intricacies related to that area. Without understanding the complexity, one cannot understand that prevalent problems of that area. Without understanding the prevalent limitations or problems of that area, one cannot bring the innovation and thus can't provide the profit in that area of concern. The best example is Steve Jobs who defied the moderation approach to his area of bringing innovation in Personal computer industry. Leaving a college to pursue his dream of revolutionising personal computer industry can't be said a moderate approach. Taking this bold decisions provided him that intense focus to work on his dream and bring a change in personal computer industry which need no further explanation. It is evident that he left his college because he was not able to give his all efforts on his dream and if he would have continued studying there then may be we would be deprived of his masterclass creation which he told later himself. This is not a single example which bolster the fact that moderation in all things can't bring the commensurate profits. Bill Gates is another same example which lend more support to my point. He was also a college drop-out who wanted to create an operating system and his creation's impact need no introduction.

However, It is not possible to give equally intense focus on every area of human concern but knowledge in other areas are equally important. One area demands the knowledge of other areas, may be not of that expert level. The example of Steve jobs' calligraphy knowledge for creation of fonts explain this. He was not an expert of this field but it helped him in making fonts for his text editor software. He was moderate of this field which eventually helped him in his business. Similarly if you are a techie who wants to do a start-up of semiconductor industry, then moderation in knowledge of semiconductor field may not provide the profit in this field. You have to be an expert of this field. However, moderation in finance field or management field can be fruitful.

Thus moderation in all things is bit extreme remark and it is rightly pointed that intense focus will not be possible and subsequently profits will not come. Nevertheless, it is not possible to have expert level knowledge in all fields thus moderation in most other field can produce desired result, also proven in past.