"We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose

views contradict our own."; disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning."

Learning is a process that is expedited through many ways like books, internet, experiences, etc. Learning from people is one of the most efficient way and due to its interactive nature it is fastest way of understanding the things. Homosapiens are intelligent species and it is bound to happen that we are going to have some view point on any thing we are learning. The view points can obviously vary from person to person and hence play its role on "how much we learn from that person".

The psychology of a person is going to play an important role in how that person learn from other person if other one is sharing or contradicting viewpoints. For example, if a person is rational thinker and drives his learning solely from critical analysis and logic without being dogmatic. For such person it doesn't matter whether other one is sharing or contradicting his view point unless he explains everything rationally. On the other hand, a highly opinionated person is never going to entertain a blatant contradiction. A feeling of stress may inhibit his/her learning in this case. Also position of a person is also going to play an important role. If a student is having some viewpoint over a topic being learnt and even if teacher is has contradictory viewpoint with nominal reasons then learning of student is not going to be impacted a lot. On the other hand, reverse case of this that a student posing valid reasons for change in viewpoints of teacher may inhibit teacher's learning.

However, a person sharing same viewpoints may have same logical support that other one is having and there is less scope for one to think in other directions and thus learning may be inhibited. One contradicting one's viewpoint always tend to challenge to ponder both his and opponent's viewpoints to analyse and in this case there are higher scopes of learning. The best example that can be presented is of Galileeo's theory that earth revolves round the sun rather vice-versa. In that era, all people if share same viewpoint that sun revolves around the sun then our learning about solar system would not be like today it is. Same viewpoint learning can be corroborated in a way that if one is going to make learn who are at greater positions or are more aged, then rather being completely contradicting his/view point one can put his/her viewpoint in a way that is weaving minute contradictions over facade of same viewpoint. This will not sound like total disagreement and also contradicting points could be put. But for the obvious facts like sun revolving around the earth, it is very difficult to create such a facade and bolstering such learning will be inane.

Debate, constructive contradictions, and data based beliefs have made it possible to develop in a way we are today. Learning should never compromised with human emotions. If certain facts are presented with proper reasoning, then it shouldn't matter what viewpoints one has whether same or contradicting. This should apply to all individuals irrespective of their positions or age. There are numerous examples in history that show if people would be sharing same viewpoints then revolutionary learning like earth revolving around sun would not be feasible and should not relate correct knowledge with emotions.