Money spent on research is almost always a good investment even when the results of that research are controversial

Research is the fundamental part of innovation, and innovation is the core of the

growth of any firm, government or community. So investments in research are propitious investments.

Research for alternative fuel source of gasoline can make great things happen, like, an electric car can solve problems of pollution, and also we would no longer have to rely on the limited

resources like gasoline, diesel, charcoal. Research when gets significant positive results can solve some

major problems like getting the cure for many critical diseases, better algorithms can make computations faster

and efficient. Even if research done in order to achieve some specific objective, fails, we always get to

learn something. For example, Due to lack of hardware supporting high computational power we

were not able to implement the algorithms that had the potential to solve large problems. But now with the results of latest researches, we are capable of solving many problems.

Sometimes research done with intent to achieve objectives which are highly ambitious and not pragmatic

can cause waste of time, energy, and money. Rather than involving in such type of research activity, Many problems that don't need any immediate research can be solved. By solving such problems money can be used

appropriately. for example, Gates foundation instead of spending most of its money on research, is using it

to cure diseases like polio from Africa. Using the money to address problems which already has solutions is some times wiser than finding more optimal and speculative solution. Reseach does'nt bring good results with it

alway, when used in wrong manner can become cataclysm, i.e. Invention of atomic bomb, took millions

of innocent lives when used.

Eventually, one thing that is irrifutable is that research is good investment, but only if results are

concievable and pragmatic. Money should be used for both research and the problems which can be addressed

which does'nt require research, so this way we shall seek balanced approch for this issue.