When schools do not have enough funding or teachers, some people think physical education classes should be cut, while others believe that courses in art and music should be eliminated first. Which do you think is preferable, and why?

Most will agree that education does not need to be limited to the conventional, academic subjects of language, math, history and science. However, the other, non-academic subjects that are often included in schools’ curriculums are generally seen as secondary. In the case of physical education, that may very well be true. Physical education, although enjoyable for students, offers very little educational value. However, classes that foster creativity, such as art or music, are an important asset to children’s development. They should not be eliminated so readily.

The primary purpose of a school is to develop the minds of its students. This is precisely why the main, academic school subjects are seen as more valuable. Unfortunately, it is easy to overlook how important creative subjects can be for a child’s mental growth. From my own life experience, I can also say that artistic outlets can help to foster a more critical, analytical mindset. By listening carefully to a guitar line in a song I liked so that I could learn it, I picked apart subtle patterns that I would not have seen otherwise. Had I not studied music as a child, I’m fairly certain I would not have developed some analytical skills I now have. Eliminating those creative classes from a school curriculum would be harmful.

On the other hand, physical education brings few clear benefits other than fun, and even the entertainment value is not very high. I, for one, disliked gym classes almost half the time when I was a child. Baseball was a treat, but volleyball was a chore, for example. And today, I cannot say that those classes helped me to grow. I would have exercised enough without them, certainly, as I played football in the street and climbed trees with my friends after school was finished. Granted, those classes offered a short time to take a break from studies, but they were not necessary. Children get more value from classes that help them to develop a specific mental skill.

Essentially, school should provide students the opportunity to challenge themselves in a way that they would not, if left to their own devices. The main benefit of physical education classes is exercise, but students can do that on their own. Art and music, however, require guidance and tools. If a school must cut one of the non-academic courses from its curriculum, physical education should be cut first.