Most culture encourages individuals to sacrifice a large part of their personalities in order to be like other people. Thus, most people are afraid to think or behave differently because they do not want to be excluded

Cultural value, norms and beliefs always wants to maintain peace and harmony in the society by maintaining conformity. It is therefore reasonable to think that culture always encourage people to sacrifice a large part of their individuality in order to be alike other people. However, I do not agree with the assertion that most people sacrifice their individuality, or follow social conformity in the fear of social persecution or social exclusion for the following reasons.

Each society has its own cultural values, norms, and notions and it is true that each member of the society is forced to live under these social constraints in order to maintain peace and harmony in the society. Any thought or action against the prevailing social trend will have a dire consequence. They are either punished or expelled from the society. For instance, in most of the Islamic society, unveiling the head of a female in front of male or any stranger is a religious sin and most of the Islamic female are forced to unveil their head while stepping out of their home. These Islamic female are subjected to harsh punishment by the family members and the entire society if found transgressing this social boundary. However, Modern Islamic females are no longer afraid of this social persecution and are no longer confined in the walls of social conformity. Instead, they have started unveiling their head and have started pursuing their career in a way they want to. And now we have numbers of Islamic females who are great singers, dancers, actresses and celebrities from all around the world. Thus cultural constraints no longer bound ones’ individuality.

Similarly, Ptolemaic geocentric theory regarding the structure of the solar system prevailed from 2nd century to early 16th century. Contemporaneous Roman Catholic Society had a wide held social belief that god had put the earth at the centre of the solar system and nobody has dared to against this social belief because of the excruciating physical punishment. However, Copernicus was not confined by this religious constraint and purposed heliocentric theory (sun as the centre of solar system). The existing immediate Catholic society harshly punished the follower of the heliocentric society, even Bruno was burnt alive, and the heliocentric theory was suppressed for hundreds of years. However, after hundreds of years of suppression, Galileo was able to prove heliocentric theory with numbers of convincing evidences gathered from the telescope he has invented. Heliocentric theory has paved a new way in the progress of space science.

In conclusion, I do agree that cultural values and norms always force peoples to sacrifice a large part of their individuality for the sake of social conformity. However, I do not agree that majority of the people sacrifice their individuality in the fear social persecution and social exclusion.