"The most effective strategy for a company to use to maintain and increase profits over the long term is to maintain high ethical standards." Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience, observations or reading.

Maintaining high ethical standards is generally considered a virtue in everyday life, necessary for fulfillment and high-quality relationships with others. In business, however, it is often assumed that companies are shady, perhaps not attempting to maintain an ethical mode of business or even actively taking advantage of those who do. There are definitely at least a few businesses trying to make a good living as well as maintain their values, but the question on potential business owners' minds is this: does it actually pay off?

Some would say that yes, maintaining honesty and transparency in business will encourage customers to be straightforward in their dealings with the company. This is to some degree true. Many people go to small business car mechanics over bigger-business chains because they feel they can trust a mechanic that has been fixing their families' cars for years. That loyalty gives the garage financial stability, and with that stability they can lower their prices or perhaps expand the services they offer. It's at least partially true that maintaining high ethical standards will make business boom.

However, the flip side of that statement is true as well. For every loyal customer at an ethical business, there is another that will take a bargain and run. For example, in my hometown it is known that the local Bed Bath & Beyond will take expired coupons. The more moderate, ethical customers use an expired coupon only if they get to the store and realize that is is expired, while other customers will show up with ten pretending they had not seen the expiration date ahead of time. In addition to shady customers, other businesses might use unethical techniques knowing that an ethical competitor will not follow suit. While it's true that honest business practices keep customers around, it is also a fact that dishonest ones do the same to keep loyal customers from deserting.

The compromise is knowing how to maintain high ethical standards for the company while protecting the company's assets. Too much mercy and customers might start coming in with false sob stories; too stringent and those same customers might start calling the business out as iron-fisted. The point is to be shrewd and not allow the customer or other businesses to take advantage, while maintaining an ethical standard that sits comfortably with executives and employees.

The balance between maintaining high ethical standards and sinking to a shady competitor's level is a difficult one. Business is business, but ethics dictates what individuals do in the physical world too. Increasing profits is a long-term goal for all businesses that want to last, which is why high ethical standards cannot stand on its own as a viable way to keep a business going. However, the same goes for indulging in unethical business: excess in this area will leave employees and employers burnt out and feeling rotten about their business. Balance is key and it is up to each individual business to find theirs.