"The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large. "

Today's climate of activism in politics and the economy has produced an environment in which views like the one stated above thrive. Questioning institutions, cultural models, and "the way things have always been" is important and absolutely necessary for future progress in the affected areas. However, this specific view, one that opposes businesses' competition against each other in profit-driven fervor, has several flaws worthy of noting

To start, this argument is based on a faulty view of what drives corporations to maximize profits; corporations are driven by profits because they have to compensate workers and executives. Like an individual, a company must strive toward profit to survive. If for some reason an entity was not driven by profits, then fewer jobs would be available and fewer people paid livelihood. A good year of profits is what gives workers Christmas bonuses or extra time off. If corporations did not play the game of making money and keeping it, then few working-class people would make money either.

A layman who does not work for the company itself might also suffer if a company ceased striving for profits. A company competes with other companies to attract customers, typically by lowering prices. If a company's prices rise because they stop taking part in the competition-driven, profit-maximizing corporate world, then many people would have to make changes in their lives to accommodate, and not for the better. For instance, if Walmart decided to not compete with Publix and Kroger to maximize profits anymore, then prices would rise, and many low-income families make the most of what they earn at Walmart to take care of their families.

At the end of the day, competition keeps prices low, and low prices maintain the general welfare of many in America.

Finally, while corporations possess enormous influence as they maximize profits, the consumer has a power of their own as well: the power of choice. A customer can always leave a corporation to purchase goods or services somewhere else. In this equilibrium the general welfare of the country is protected. This situation of checks and balances functions a little like the branches of government. As long as customers have choices between the power-hungry companies, power-hungry companies will battle each other and woo the customer.

Corporations largely embody a symbol of power and ruthlessness in America. Not wanting to have much to do with them is a logical consequence of such a sentiment. However, decision making cannot be based on sentiment alone. While the "feel" of corporate America may seem harsh and domineering, it truly does give the consumer and the nation at large a freedom to pick and choose how to live their lives.