A NATION MUST HAVE THE SAME NATIONAL CURRICULUM FOR ALL SCHOOLS

A school plays an integral role in building a person holistically. I once read a quote when I was young which said - "Change is the mother of Necessity" and this has explained allot of things to me as I was growing up. A nation having the same national curriculum for all students up to high school would curb the development of individuals across the nation. Even though I understand the importance of proper guidance from elders in a student's formative years, they also deserve the freedom to incline more towards their areas of interest at least after middle school.

If you read the autobiography of Sachin Tendulkar, he never did well academically at school and this is because he knew he had to grow up to become one of the greatest cricketers that this world has ever witnessed. Similarly, when we talk about a standard curriculum, we should also consider the flexibility and rigor of the curriculum. A nation must undoubtedly produce world class individuals who later when apply to even go to an abroad university, are not intimidated by their peers.

I once met with a few students at a workshop who were from a school with an unconventional curriculum - they grew up without giving exams until middle school, spent more time learning from nature and sports. I expected them to be not as academically proficient as our team but was taken aback looking at their viewpoint of tackling team-based situations. Somewhere I strongly felt that our team lacked sporstmanship and motivation when we were given team building challenges. Even when we go for inter-school competitions and compete with students who come from across the nation, from different backgrounds and schools, we then realise where we stand, what makes us stand out or what we lack in.

Having a standard national curriculum might create a monotony in the behavior and approach of students thereby not instilling a healthy competition amongst them. Not only that, students must be given the freedom to incline towards the areas of their caliber and talent. It may be such that one may require a certain set of skills for their line of interest for college but might not have it because of the “standard national curriculum” that their school was forced to follow. A school must indulge in development of its students on a very whole level taking into account their strengths and weaknesses.

Thus, I feel that every nation must allow it's schools to have a flexible national curriculum that helps them grow up to be well prepared for the challenges that the future may bring to them.