A nation should require all of its students to study the same curriculum until they enter college.

The given recommendation that - A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college, may have a good intend behind it. It would be good that all the students of the nation will be on the same page before going to the college. But there are also certain drawbacks to this recommendation.

Let us consider that the curriculum for all the students in a nation is same until they enter college, this means that though students having different interests would not be able to learn and pursue it. All the students will be compelled to learn the same thing disregard of their interest. For instance, what would have happened if the present world champion in badminton P.V. Sindhu would have made to undergo through this norm? Certainly, India would not have gotten this world class badminton player and she wouldn't even have performed well in the given curriculum.

Moreover, if some students have an interest in arts and want to make of progress in the same, but the curriculum does not include arts at all, in such conditions, what should these students do? The only option that would remain in front of them would be to give up on their interest and follow what the nation wants blindly. This would degrade the productivity of the nation.

In the topic of national excellence and competition, if few nations had adopted this rule, the nation having low level, stagnant, similar curriculum would have been far behind than the nation whose curriculum is versatile enough, having varieties and practical knowledge.

It would not be completely bad to incorporate this norm, mainly for the students from third world countries. They would get the benefit to learn things new to them and to alleviate their nation by making progress by taking good education.

Thus, taking into consideration all the above discussed pros and cons regarding whether a nation should or should not require all of its students to study the same curriculum until they enter college, I contend to accept it to a certain extent but certainly more inclination will be towards students should be able to pursue the subjects according to their interests.