A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until college.

Write a response in which you agree or disagree with the statement above, and explain your reasoning for your position by developing and supporting your argument with specific circumstances, and provide how your recommendation would or would not support and explain these examples.

Education as we know it, is one of the the most important aspects of any nation. The realization that the level of education in a nation could make or mar the nation and its citizens is one of the major reason why so much value is usually place on the educational system in most nations. With this in mind, the issue of how best the system should be run and how the curriculum should be implemented to elicit the best results has become of utmost concern to most nations. One of such issues that have arisen over time is the issue of whether a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college or not.

Many ideas and opinions have been posited as answers to this issue over the years, and more suggestions are still evolving with time. personally, I agree to a large extent that all students, irrespective of the institution they find themselves should be allowed to study the same national curriculum - tested and trusted to be worthy and and of a high standard, until they enter college. My stance in this incited by my deep considerations of various issues whilch would be discussed in details.

Firstly, I believe it would be of extreme benefits to students if they are allowed to gain knowledge in other fields before they specialize at college level, and focus on the specific field they want to venture into. This would enable them to be well versed in other areas - at least to a fair extent, and have an idea of what other fields entails. For example, a child that wants to become a medical doctor would have a reasonable knowledge of what engineering entails, and might be able to apply some of the things he has learnt from his basic physics to sole problems that might arise in the medical field.

Furthermore, a standard national curriculum would bring about uniformity of knowledge across children of the same age groups. When students from various schools and walks of life have an opportunity to convene at a place, there should be uniformity in their conversations, which would most likely be as a result of what they have been thought in their different institutions. This uniformity would go a long way to foster unity among them, and bring to light the fact that no matter where they school, they are exposed to the same teachings that all children of their age groups are exposed to, and this would temper the tendency for some students looking down on others.

Also, when students are exposed to a standard curriculum, it gives them the freedom to explore and choose carefully what they are interested in doing as a career. This helps them to be better at what they do, because it was born out of passion and not compulsion.

In conclusion, a uniform curriculum has various merits. However, this does not degrade the benefits of differing curriculum but it simply outlines the merits which are equally important to students and the society at large.