The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight”.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The conclusion drawn by the author that because of the success of the unmanned space probes and satelites, when compared to the cost and danger of a manned space flight, the aeronautics company should invest in unmanned space flights is one that seems logical on the surface, but this conclusion was hastily drawn and is based on a lot of unwarranted assumptions by the author, which when logically considered seriously weakens the authors arguments and makes his conclusion unacceptable.

Firstly, the author assumes that the space probes and satelites perform exaclty the same duties as the manned space flight, hence since the probes and satelites are successful, then they can be used to replace the manned space flight. This assumption is very flawed for several reasons, for example, it could be that the duties performed my the manned space flight is more complex and more sophisticated than the duties of the probes and satelites. the man in the space flight might be required to carry out duties such as communicating directly with the team on earth, he could also be responsible for making mental and intuitive decisions about some certain observations. These are tasks that are obviously impossible for probes and satelites to carry out, as they do not not have the mental ability or the intuitiveness of man to make certain decisions. despite the success of the unmanned flight, If any of these explanations hold tru, then the authors argument is seriously weakened as the space probes and satelites would be unable to carry out the same duties as the manned flight.

Also, the author assumes that the unmanned flight is less costly and dangerous when compared to the manned flight. While this could be true, the author did not provide any concere evidence to show that ther is no cost implication or danger associated with the unmanned flight. It could be that the cost of setting up unmanned flight is equal or even more than the unmanned flight. It could also be that the unmanned flight has some other dangers associated with it, even if it does not involve the dangers of sending men and women into space. Other dangers might include, the danger of the devices failing, and the danger of the devices not getting the information from the areas required. If any of these conditions hold true, then the authors argument is weakened.

Furthermore, the author assumes that the manned space flight returns exactly the same quality and quantity of information as the unmanned probes and satelites. while this may be true, there is also a possibility that the nature, quality and quanity of information provided by the manned space flight are more detailed and valuable that provided by the unmanned space flight. If this is true, the argument would be flawed, as the results would be less effective with the unmanned space flight.

In conclusion, before the recommendation that the company should invest its resources in unmanned space flights is adopted, the author needs to provide more evidenced to support his assumptions,  in order for his conclusion to be adequately evaluated.