A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position

It is indeed true that certain basic knowledge is essential for every resident of a given nation, if not the entire world. However, I do not believe that the necessary knowledge is extensive enough to require 18 years of a person's life to be taught. Instead, the current system, where the grade school and middle school curriculum is common for every student, while high school consists of elective streams of studies (science, commerce, and humanities), strikes me as ideal.

The goal of education is to enable citizens to live out their lives in an informed manner, and to be able to perform their jobs adequately. It is also in the interest of a nation to preserve its culture, and to pass on knowledge of its history to the future generations, so that mistakes made in the past can be avoided. Basic mathematics is necessary in all spheres of life? the most obvious example being in monetary transactions, financial matters, and other pecuniary matters of interest. In a democracy, it is crucial for a citizens to understand how the government functions, and the value of their votes. A preliminary knowledge of science is necessary so as to battle the many sources misinformation, and archaic superstitious rituals and beliefs which may bring harm upon the society by hindering progress.

However, from my experience, this requisite 'common' knowledge is quite easily imparted by the age of fourteen or sixteen. Subsequently, children need to be able to make informed decisions about their future. They cannot venture into adulthood with nary an idea of what they would like to do in life. Given that one's intellectual capabilities peak when they are in their twenties, in order to make optimal and efficient use of those fertile years? for their benefit, and in interest of the society at large? it is imperative that they spend at least a part of their teens exploring areas that they feel they would like to pick up further on agead, in college. From this perpspective, allowing them to choose their own courses allows them to explore their areas of interest in greater depth. From my personal experience, the change of pace and increase in depth afforded due to the decrease in width of courses, played a crucial role in reaffirming my desire to pursure physics. Also, given that different colleges usually specialise in different departments, choosing my college depended heavily upon my exploring the sub-areas of science in high school.

Apart from this point, there is the issue of language. The central board in diverse and multilingual nation typically recommends a unifying or local language (such as English in India) as the first language. This is crucial and prudent from the perspective of people's future prospects in or outside the country. However, I believe that students should be given the privilege of choosing their second and third languages. These are not crucial for day-to-day survival, and should reflect what people believe they might want to do in the future. For children dreaming to emmigrate to Germany, for instance, it'd be useful to let them learn German, instead of regulating a nation-wide second language. In essence, one common, nation-wide, unifying, (first) language suffices.

The issue of sports is another important one: Since physical fitness correlates with mental and physical well being, it would be useful to make sports a compulsory course for all years of school education. The case for health education is quite similar.

Thus, I believe that certain parts of the curriculum should be compulsory at certain ages stages of development. The matter is highly subject and case dependent.