Some believe that local communities should rely on citizen volunteers for projects benefiting those communities e g organizing youth sports leagues and collecting donations for charity Others believe that local communities are better served when professio

Local communities typically support a wide variety of projects to help serve the daily needs and desires of their members. The prompt mentions youth sports leagues, which serve recreational purposes, while charities are of immense social significance. Other projects may include those involving sanitisation (cleaning up the local river, so that the community may benefit from the convenience of having a nearby source of water, or a place for water sports), or tree-planting, to increase foliage and improve air quality. There might even be more technical projects involving coming up with novel techniques to battle pestering issues like pollution, or strategies to incentivise people to reduce wastage of food. I believe that an appropriate mix of volunteers and professionals is best suited for most projects, in general.

Volunteers are highly devoted to their tasks, as is already evident from the fact that they do not seek monetary compensation. Their enthusiasm is fuelled by a bonafide desire to ameliorate the condition of the society. In projects such as tree plantation or blood donation campaigns, they play an instrumental role in 'spreading the news' amongst community members, keeping them informed, and inspiring and encouraging them to participate. Their being relatable to the common man helps the cause, since people can empathise; they can almost effectovely serve as rle models. The dedication of a volunteer towards sustainable development can help motivate the masses to rethink the cause they themselves live for, and to join the force, affecting a positive change on the society. Operationally, volunteers are light on people's pockets, again since profit is not their motive.

On the other hand, certain tasks may require economic planning, or knowledge of human psychology. Such fields often require years of education and expertise. A project which aims to deal with issues seen as sensitive amongst conservative folks, such as LGBTQ+ rights, would need careful planning. The public will need to be educated, but it shouldn't turn up against the very governing body. Medical expertise would be essential when dealing with health-related issues, such as in AIDS awareness camps. A doctor would also be more trusted by the people than a mere volunteer, in this case. Excercising appropriate penalties in order to minimise food wastage may well require the assistance of a trained economist. Coming up with an efficient way to create hand sanitisers would require cooperation with professional engineering institutes. In such cases, the assistance offered by a professional would turn out to be invaluable. The financial downside of employing professionals, as opposed to employing volunteers, is that it may tend to burn a hole in a disgruntled taxpayer's pocket.

I believe that the community can function optimally only when a mixed group of professionals and volunteers work together to achieve the common good. Suppose donations need to be collected to fund the fight against polio. Doctors, in such a case, would be essential when educating the people about polio vaccines. Efficient vaccination drives would be best planned out by trained managers. The outreach could be boosted with the assistance of volunteers. Besides putting up posters, the latter could even be trained to administer the vaccines. The cooperation of all would finally ensure management of polio.