"A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college." - Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the posi

Among students around the world, the standardized scores of US students on average are subpar and do not contest to students in the EU or Asia. This has led to various changes in the education system. Some have considered the implementation of a standardized national curriculum for all students to follow. However, I believe that this idea isn't practical for the two following reasons.

First, a general education system can waste time that impedes a student's interests. One of the classes I struggled in high school was English - literary analysis didn't come to me as well as my peers. Despite the fact that I was interested in the STEM field, I spent most of my time reading literary books and stressing over how to analyze it. This time could have been spent on my interests. I could have explored the stem field and discover fields that could enrich my knowledge and heighten my passion for the field of STEM.

Furthermore, a career-oriented school may seem to encourage students to focus on studies. Schools in Taiwan and Korea provide schools in various specific fields, such as entertainment (dancing, acting, singing), STEM, and other fields. For the case of entertainment school, these students only learn up to basic math and sufficient language comprehension. But they heavily focus on their careers. Dancers can spend long hours refining their art because they have the time to do so and not be bogged down by the obligations of unnecessary and irrelevant classes. Because of this, the Korean entertainment industry has produced some amazing actresses, dancers, and singers. This comes from the opportunity to explore and put time into their art/professions.

In the end, implementing a national curriculum in high school isn't the best solution to better US education. It's true that these career-oriented schools come with a cost: students won't have the breadth knowledge. However, I believe encouraging students to dive deep into knowledge that perks their interests will drive them to learn and succeed is the most important thing.