A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

(Written under timed conditions, with the PowerPrep software)

Should a nation standardize the curriculum of all its schools until university level? While standardization ensures nation-wide consistency and can increase equality for all students, total uniformity comes with pervasive disadvantages. Students will be less likely to succeed if choice is restricted, it will be costly to the government to standardize, and national curriculums must leave out important content that is relevant to particular regions.

Requiring all students to take the same courses inhibits individuality and freedom of choice. Social psychological studies have found that an individual's sense of autonomy in an endeavour is positively correlated with their success. Other studies have demonstrated that learning is maximized under conditions of high intrinsic motivation and self-relevance. If students have no choice in the courses in which they are enrolled, they will likely be forced to study subjects that do not interest them. In such scenarios, students will be less likely to apply themselves or find inspiration. Thus, an inflexible standardized national curriculum could make students unhappy and prevent them from realizing their full potential.

In addition, a standardized national curriculum is costly to implement. The government must create new agencies to design and implement curriculum for 13 years of basic schooling, ranging from kindergarten through 12th grade. In addition to the creation of the new national curriculum, the government must continually allocate funds to send materials to all schools and regulate education. For example, including a basic computer science or technology course would be beneficial for students, preparing them for the modern workplace. While implementing a course like this in a newer, urban school would not be particularly problematic, adding the course to an older, rural school could require the purchase and installation of a significant amount of new equipment. New teachers with sufficient credentials and experience in the field would also need to be relocated to the rural school. Resolving imbalances such as these would require more government expenditure. Assuming a consistent budget allocation for education, this means that the government will have fewer funds available for other aspects of education. In order to afford to make every single school identical in curriculum and capabilities, the government may have to cut back on the total number of schools or slash funding for extracurricular programs.

Some may argue that standardizing a national curriculum ensures that all students have equal opportunity in the classroom and complete high school with consistent depth and breadth of background knowledge. It is true that some degree of standardization can give students a comprehensive and sufficient education regardless of whether they live in a rural or urban area or come from differing socio-economic backgrounds. However, excessive uniformity has disadvantages. In the United States, some subjects focus on local history. In the state of New Mexico, New Mexico History and Geography is a required course for all students. This course includes in-depth information about Native American tribes in the area and the region's history involving the Spanish. These topics are relevant for many of the state's residents. Thus, this regional history course has great value for students in that area. If school curriculum was entirely standardized across the nation, subjects catered to particular regions would have to be cut for the sake of efficiency. It would be inappropriate to force all of a nation's students to spend a disproportionate amount of time on any one small area of the country, but for local residents, the study of regional subjects is invaluable.

It is beneficial for the government to include some national standards for education and work to ensure that all students obtain the baseline knowledge that is necessary and sufficient for adult life. However, governments should not require all students to complete an identical national curriculum prior to college. A single standardized curriculum for all limits students' sense of autonomy and ability to pursue their own interests. The cost of standardizing all schools would be detrimental to the government and occlude spending on other important aspects of education. Finally, a national curriculum would neglect local concerns, leaving out in-depth explorations of regional history.