A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain the reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

That a nation should set a standard curriculum required of all of its citizens would make sense only if their set curriculum included some optional courses and flexibility in the methods for which these were taught. If the set curriculum were limited to only English, Mathematics, Social Studies, Geography, Physical Education, and as in common here in New Zealand for example, Te Reo Maori; this would rule out all arts and creative studies and severely limit, possibly even detriment, those children who excel in the latter areas.

By limiting the national curriculum to specific 'core subjects’ without allocating hours to creative subjects, as they are often not deemed to develop critical life skills, there will be a huge number of predominantly creative children who will go through their entire schooling genuinely believing that they are 'bad at school'. On the other hand, with the opportunity to explore their creativity and excel in their favourite subjects, be they photography, design, drawing or even competitive frisbee for example (the choices should be limitless), the child will instead go about the world telling everyone "I'm an excellent painter/writer/frisbee player" and will be able to identify themselves with something for which they truly feel proud.

Further, if the national schooling curriculum were limited to specific 'core' subjects, there is a great risk that certain children, due to their upbringing and family situation, may not receive the skills that they will require in their lifetimes. A good example is children growing up in rural families. These youth in farming families naturally will need knowledge related to their environment; they will need to understand how the seasons affect their crops and as a flow on effect of that, their livestock and thus the family income. They will need to be able to recognise when areas of their land are suffering from drought, and how they can tackle such a problem. True, the child may decide to move into an urban region once they are old enough to choose their path in life and they may also learn many skills simply via learning at home. Both are reasons in which it could be argued, make the inclusion of agricultural studies obsolete for said child, however this child nevertheless would learn the most up to date knowledge if educated in school, and could even teach their parents a thing or two about land management.

Both examples, highlight the necessity for optional subjects in a national curriculum. After all aren't intelligent people generally classified as extremely competent problem solvers? And to solve complex problems, do we not essentially need to be seriously creative? And to develop our creative problem solving skills, thus our intelligence, surely we must be given the free rein to explore our own creativity throughout childhood, rather than be limited to some subjects which are certainly not considered by all children 'fun'.

In conclusion, a parochial attitude towards a national curriculum would be worthwhile only the instance where there is a designated number of hours every week, a suggested ten hours at least, in which any individual child is free to elect areas of schoolwork in the subjects where they are the most passionate, and will ultimately be able to excel in and express their individual creativity.