A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Most countries in the Western world have developed public school-systems that provide very similar or identical curricula within their borders to all students. Though this incurs some advantages on both the teahers and the students, the problems that arise from such a practice far outweigh the positives. Thus, nations should not enforce a homogenous, identical program of study on all of its students and teachers.

While school curricula should be monitored by the national government (for instance, its ministry of education), the minutiae of the study programs should not be enforced. Rather, governments should offer general guidelines and a wide area of topics in each field from which a teacher can choose, in accordance with the community. There would be several advantages of adopting such a system. Firstly, such protean and adaptable programs would account for cultural, regional, and community-based diversity. This would be especially true for subjects in the social sciences and the humanities. For example, while it is important that students are familiar with the basic history of the nation in which they reside, it is equally important that students from different ethnic, cultural, and regional backgrounds be able to study their own histories. Subscribing a homogenous history program to the entire nation, and enforcing historical study as a monolithic experience across the board, would be inhibit that nation's diversity. The melting-pot ideal that ultimately seeks to create one national identity has long been found wanting by sociologists, anthropologists, and psychologists; it does not work. Rather, it would be more beneficial both to the individual students and to the country as a whole to embrace diversity. In the classroom, a homogenous school curricula would be inimical diversity.

Indeed, enabing diverse discourses and allowing for differences is also important on the individual level. Different students have different strengths and weaknesses, and forcing every child to follow the exact same program of study could be harmful to children's sense of accomplishment and their passion for learning. A unified, single program for all students seemingly creates equality, but it is important to consider the ways in which this equality is merely an illusion. People have different capabilities, proclivities, and interests, and once again--this diversity should be embraced rather than quelched. Every child deserves equal access to high-quality education; this point in no way contested by this argument. The easy solution is to create a uniform curricula, as it generates this false sense of equality. However, enabling both students, and, in fact, their teachers, some freedom in devising the study-programs would be highly beneficial. Both teachers and students would be more engaged in the material, resulting in better teachers and better students.

It is true that one of the main benefits incurred by uniform curricula is that students arrive to college with the same academic background. However, we should ask ourselves whether such uniformity is necessary, and if it is conducive to the development of both the students on a personal level, and as part of the fabric that make up a nation's society. The answer to both, is no. As mentioned above, accounting for individual diversity and the diversitt of different communities is imperative. It is for this reason that many companies look for workers that represent a wide range of perspectives and with a wide range of interests and knowledge. Uniformity is noxious, and leads to a stagnant economy and society. Enabling a more versatile curriculum would therefore have a positive impact on the nation as a whole. Though perhaps more complocated to devise, the benefits of versatility in schools would inevitably seep into the nation's society.

Therefore, it would be advisable to allow for leniency and variance in planning a school curricula, rather than enforcing a uniform curriculum in an entire nation. Such a practice would produce better students, and ultimately, a m