Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

While modern technology has solved many of the mundane problems that, throughout history, had taken much of humanity's time, nonetheless it has created an abundance of nee and more complex issues with which people must cope.

One primary issue with which modern technology seems to contend is communication. Over the last century, the development of the telephone, the cell-phone, and the internet, have ameliorated conditions for communication across the board. Indeed, while in the 19th century one would have written letters, waiting days, weeks, or months in order to receive a reply, today we can easily communicate with people on the other side of the world instantaneously. Such an advancement seemingly improves the lives of all people. However, rather than bringing people closer together, the evolution of communication technology has often brought them further apart. It is not uncommon to see groups of people on the street, perhaps even groups of friends, who are each gazing blankly at the screens of their cell-phones, making little to no personal contact. Thus, while enabling communication across long distances, such technology is slowly eradicating the personal, human connections between people. The results of such limited social interaction can often be catastrophic. Indeed, such limited personal interaction can have highly deletrious effects on children's development of social skills, a complex issue brought on by technological innovation, and most significantly the internet.

A similar by-product of the advent of the internet is open access to virtaully infinite information. Rather than be forced to pour over thick encyclopedeias, one can find the answer to a question in seconds, by pressing a few keys on the keyboard. Such easy and quick access to information simplifies people's lives in infinite ways. Hiking through a forest, one can easily check whether a certain berry is poisonous; pondering the meaning of life, one suffering from an existential crisis can easily look up philosophers' differing perspectives on humanity's purpose in the universe. Acess to infromation provides a remedy to problems big and small. At the same time, however, the juggernaut of information that crashes like a wave as a result of a simple google search also raises many complex issues. One result the facility in which one can find an answer to a question is, paradoxically, that people's knowledge becomes very limited, as it is no longer necessary to retain information--it is availale online at any given moment in time. The abundance of information, which is often constituted by an amalgamation of fact and fiction, can also lead to great difficulty discerning valid, veracious information, from inaccurate, distorted, or simply false information. Indeed, this issue has become increasingly conspicuous over the last year, a period characterized most aptly by the term "fake news".

While technological advancements have therefore provided solutions to many of humanity's day to day problems, it has also raised complex issues regarding the place of personal communication in society, and the value of truth.