A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Whether to employ a common national curriculum or not is a burning question which has indulged scholars and policy makers of the country in a hot debate. Like most cases, this answer to this issue also has its merits and demerits. However, a true and consummate picture of the two options available can only be painted after a discussing the issue using a holistic approach, weighing the pros and cons of each choice. It is the responsibility of the state to ensure that its citizens have equal opportunity for learning and growth. It is this responsibility which shifts the weight of this discussion on a common national curriculum side.

In a country, for example, one can argue that since there are students who dwell in different societies with different backgrounds. One locality may be under-developed and others may possess a burgeoning economy. Therefore, if it is left for private instittutions to formulate different parallel sets of curriculum for students of the same level, then this will result in the rise of a grave educational disparaty. Students studying from two different curriculums will not attain a similar level of breadth of knowledge. At College level, there is a standard curriculum therefore students who havent covered those topics will find it difficult to cope up with advanced knowledge. This will result in a performance gap which is instrinsic in nature due to different curriculums.

There may be questions raised by some over the complete commonality of the curriculum, since it is wthout doubt that different states have different cultures and industrial setups. A state may want to eduacte its student son its own history and language. This does not fit well with the idea of a common curriculum. Othe states may want to inculcate those knowledge areas in its students which are important to thrive in thier industry. Therefore, it can not be denied that a national curriculum must be developed catering most needs.

It is observed that many private institutions also have their own curriculum. Therefore, two parallel curriculums make it difficult for students to compete on equal ground at the College level. One system may emphasize more on breadth of knowledge while one may focus more on depth.This gives rise to difficulties for students at higher levels.

In a nutshell, the agreement with the issue raised in the question is qualified in its nature. although a national curriculum which is common is the need of the hour to mitigate discrimination among students with different background, it is also necessary to formulate this curriculum in consultation with policy makers from different states and societies in order to meet the specific reqiuirements of every student.