A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Quoting the famous Greek philosopher socrates, " The only good is knowledge, and the only evil is ignorance". Education is one of the most crucial parameters contributing to the well being and development of a nation. Some people claim that countries should have a common national curriculum in schools, till colleges. While it is agreeable that in certain senses, this might be beneficial, a thorough examination of the issue indicates that there are severe drawbacks possible from this proposed common syllabus policy.

Certainly, having a common curriculum can offer some benefits. A common syllabus for all the students of the nation brings them to the same platform, by the time they finish school. All the students will have the same kind of education imparted to them, and theoretically, they will have equal standings in college admissions, scholarships, etc. Also, a common curriculum can proposedly bring down the barriers between different states, different board, and modes of education, making our young generation more tolerant of each other.

Beyond these concessions, however, it seems unjustifiable to impose a singular curriculum to all the students of the nation. One of the possible negative impacts is spreading of propaganda by the government. Although it may sound extreme, it is quite possible that the government may use this control over school syllabus to deliberately modify syllabus in its favor. It is also possible that government expurgates certain parts of history that it deems unfit in the sense that those portions tarnish the image of the nation or its form of governance. Such manipulation of facts and stories is not right on any account.

Another possible drawback of this common syllabus policy is that it inhibits states from including certain local aspects peculiar to the very region. Such knowledge might be crucial. knowledge of regional history, customs and traditions make students more aware of and sensitive to their surroundings. For example, if a particular region is famous for pottery, including information in the syllabus, might make students aware of their cultural heritage, and some might even end up contributing in some form to the art, say helping those involved in the pottery business financially.

Education is very crucial to society. A national curriculum might offer some superfluous advantages, but the possible drawbacks are much severe thus the claim is untenable.