"A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college". Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Students represent the future of a nation. Their successes and failures help guide the trajectory of the nation. Thus, education plays a critical role in national development. As a result, some scholars have recommended that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. While a standardized national curriculum can promote equality among students from different socioeconomic backgrounds, it can also prevent students from personalizing curriculums to their interests and needs.

A standardized national curriculum would ensure that all students, regardless of their socioeconomic backgrounds, are receiving the same curriculum so that there would be less of a knowledge disparity when students with varying levels of privilege enter college. It is easy for students from lower socioeconomic backgrounds to academically lag behind in college because they are unable to compete with their more privileged peers who were able to afford outside tutors or highly trained teachers who taught them advanced content prior to college. This academic disparity between students can create a lot of stress for students from lower socioeconomic status and in turn impact other aspects of their college experience. Having a standardized national curriculum could solve this. If all students in the nation are taught the same curriculum in school, that would ensure that all students enter with the same basic foundation of knowledge to build on. In turn, this preparation can eliminate the potential knowledge disparity.

However, while having a national standardized curriculum can promote equality among students, other factors such as quality of the education or socioeconomic status can still lead to disparities. Though a national curriculum may be helpful, it is difficult to standardize how the curriculum is carried out across the nation. Learning the curriculum content from a poorly trained teacher can produce vastly different results from learning the curriculum content from a professionally trained and experienced teacher. Furthermore, other factors outside of the school can affect the student's ability to absorb the information as well. For example, students from lower socioeconomic backgrounds might have to juggle multiple part-time jobs on top of going to school. The hours spent at these jobs can produce fatigue that in turn negatively impacts their academic performance. Hence, a national standardized curriculum may be a good place to begin in establishing educational equity; however, there are also many other factors that must be addressed to achieve complete equality in education.

Furthermore, the curriculum requirement can also prevent certain students from personalizing the curriculum to their personal passions, interests, or needs. Some students figure out what they want to pursue professionally early on in high school. It could be music, dance, acting, or robotics. In their cases, it might not be helpful for them to continue taking history, biology, or physical education classes when they can be taking advanced classes that most align with their professional interests. While it is always good for students to gain a wide, interdisciplinary perspective on the world, it might not always be best for the student's success. For all fields, specialization propels a student on his or her path to success. For example, when firms are hiring employees, they like to look for candidates who have relevant prior experience. Without a national curriculum, students can receive a head start and dive deeply into the development of their passions.

All in all, a standardized national curriculum has the potential to promote educational equity among students from diverse backgrounds. However, such result is unlikely to be attained. Instead, the curriculum can stifle student's pursuit of their true passions and interests. In addition, external factors such as the quality of education or student's socioeconomic backgrounds will still produce educational inequalities among students.