"The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station. 'Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.' Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.”

The argument argues that devoting increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news has caused the television station to experience a loss in viewers and advertising revenues. While this could be a logically feasible argument, it lacks specific additional evidence that would help alfor a more in-depth evaluation.

First of all, it would be beneficial to have the business manager clarify what about the station's coverage of weather and local news is causing viewer complaints. There can be many possible explanations for why the viewers are complaining about the station's coverage of weather and local news. For example, it could be because the late-night news program is devoting less time to weather and local news, as the memorandum states. However, it can also be due to other miscellaneous reasons. Perhaps the station hired a new anchor for the weather and local news section and that newsanchor's inexperienced background has diminished the quality of the program. Or maybe it is because the weather information the station is propagating has been mostly inaccurate. The actual explanation behind the viewer complaints is critical for a fair evaluation of the argument to be conducted. If the complaints are in response to the decreased time, then the overall argument that restoring the time devoted to weather and local news would attract more viewers would hold true. However, if it is due to other factors such as a poor newsanchor or inaccurate weather information, then increasing the time devoted to weather and local news would only further irritate the viewers.

To best evaluate the argument, it would also be important for the business manager to reveal why local businesses have canceled their advertising contracts with the station. Similarly, the reasoning behind this decision can be tied to the decreased time devoted to weather and local news. However, it can also be due to other factors. It is possible that advertisers no longer want to work with the station because a station representative made a public and radical comment that contradicts with many advertising companies' morals and values. If this is the case, then such evidence would weaken the overall argument that restoring the time devoted to weather and local news would prevent the loss of advertising revenues. Restoring the time devoted for weather and local news would not be sufficient to transform the public image of the television station once it is tainted. On the other hand, if advertisers have indeed canceled their contracts because of the news time allocation, then such evidence would strengthen the overall argument. In that situation, restoring time devoted to weather and local news would target the stem of the problem and most likely restore advertising revenues.

Furthermore, providing evidence that viewers and advertisers both loved the time allocation for the weather and local news would also strengthen the overall argument. It is possible that the previous time allocation for weather and local news was most ideal for viewers and advertisers because it was shown during a rush hour. Hence, the timing of the news attracted maximum viewers and in turn satisfied the advertisers by increasing reach. As a result, if this is the case, restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level would be sure to restore advertising revenues and higher viewership.

All in all, the memorandum's overall argument that the television station should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level to increase viewership and advertising revenues would be bolstered by the support of more relevant and cogent evidence. Providing evidence on the reasons behind why local advertisers canceled their contracts and why viewers are filing complains would best allow the business manager to make the most logical decision to advance the television station.