A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

A student's mind in his early age of schooling is similar to clay. It can be molded and formed into any shape and capacity. Thus this period of education is pivotal in building a strong career path for the student. The debate over the curriculum that needs to be prescribed for a student has been there for quite a long time. I believe that all students need to be taught a uniform basic curriculum until they attain the maturity and ability to make concrete decisions about their career and life in general. But no student is similar in his ability or talent. Therefore, to arrive at a conclusion, we need to analyse the issue from every point of view.

As stated above, fundamentals are of paramount importance to a school-going child. As a famous adage goes, A building is only as strong as its foundation. Thus for a student, the foundation has to be laid very meticulously taking into account that this fundamentals will in future help him to make an informed decision. If every student is taught fundamentals of all basic subjects irrespective of his special inclinations, he can make an informed decision when he enters college. A uniform national curriculum does just that. A student who has a basic understanding of both science and arts can decide better on what path leads to the growth of his career.

There is also the issue of measuring the capacity or competance of the students in a country. Examinations like JEE (Joint Entrane Exam) in India test the student on a curriculum that is uniform throughout the country as it gives an impartial and objective grounds for every student which might not have been possible if the curriculum would differe from state to state or from one student to another.

All elementary school examinations worldwide assess a student's capability to perform on a holistic set of subjects to ensure an allround developement of a student. Students will be given an opportunity to showcase a basic competance in every field of study. A healthy mix of academics, physical activities like sports and games, artistic subjects like painting and storytelling mandated to every student gives more scope for a student in his early age to develop his skills.

However, there exists a concern that a single curriculum across the nation can ignore a student's natural abilities and force him to spend time on subjects in which he does not have any particluar interest. Some countries like Australia focus on streamling or narrowing down of a student's career path very early on in his schooling. This has lead to better results in sports as students need not study a lot of science or do a lot of math if they do not have an affinity to it. But this in the long run affects a student's overall developement as he will lack basic skills to apply in other situations, say giving a first-aid to an injured person or solve basic tax calculations.

Thus it is important for a nation to have a common curriculum for a student until he enters college as the schooling is the age where the student can learn basics of necessary skills.