A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Development of a nation is always dependent on young generation. Young and fresh minds tend to develop ideas different and novel from previous generations. So it is necessary to shape these budding minds with appropriate and quality education. While a cursory glance at the idea to give every student uniform curriculum for education might seem benevolent it overshadows the constraints that it might put on students if such approach to education is deployed.

First of all, the sole purpose of education is to give a foundation to a student on which he can build his future. With appropriate knowledge he can pursue his dreams and his passion. But a consolidated and inflexible curriculum will limit on the basis of what it can offer to a student. Different people have different ambitions which need disparate foundations of knowledge. For an example a person who seeks to be a biologist or a doctor might not need mathematics to an extent which an engineer needs. Hence forcing individuals to follow one absolute curriculum will discourage them and will limit their deep understanding of the topic that they desire to study.

Moreover, sometimes forcing students to come out of their interest and follow a more limited path might bring the moral down. Hence it might affect the output that they can offer. If we want to avoid such scenario then we have to include all foundational courses to all possible fields of study into our curriculum. Though it sounds ideal scenario, practically it is not possible. A student can not study everything in one curriculum and will tend to suffer in the areas which he has little interest.

Adding to the negative side, Similar curriculum around the nation will limit the ability to innovate. Innovation comes from divergent ideas, which is stymied if everyone has to study same curriculum. Similar curriculum will only give rise to similar minds. So for a nation which wishes to develop, such lack of ideas will be a roadblock. Researches suggest that people who feel a sense of independence in their academic activity tend to perform better. So a curriculum which only imposes constraints is definitely not helping the students.

Some theorists might point out that similar curriculum will enable us to create a more comparable measure among the students to find out precocious academic luminaries. But, can you judge a fish by its ability to fly? So such comparision will always be skewed.

Similar curriculum only confines the ability of students and precludes them to beget innovation. While little improvement might be expected, the vitiating factors overwhelm positive aspects. Hence It is not advisable to impose same national curriculum.