A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

On first glance, it may seem apposite to say that students should be given the liberty to choose what they prefer to study and pursue with their lives. However, such a line of thought is erroneous to say the least. There is a context to every discussion and issue, and such, it is vital to note that such statements require one even more so. As has been noticed with every endeavour one takes, there is a learning curve associated with it and as students grow, the importance of this is all the more profound. Taking ths into consideration, it is essential that students study the fundamentals cohesively to develop the required mental faculties, and develop their interests in parallel along with it.

It is important to learn the fundamentals from various subjects/fields to survive in today's fast paced world. With an onus on multi-disciplinariaism prevalent almost everywhere, it is only sensible that it reflects in the education of a student before college as well. Apart from survival skills (purely from a mental viewpoint), they also help develop necessary everyday functioning. Although this might seem as far-reaching, it is arguably true. A clearcut example to support is mathematics. Even though its high conceptual subects like calculus isn't practiced by one and all, it's applications are far reaching. Just because one doesn't see it doesn't mean it is not necessary to learn it.

Borrowing from the necessity to learn the fundamentals, it is imprudent to expect stduents to differ right at the primary or secondary level itself. If sucha step is allowed, certain mental faculties, in all probabilities, will be underdeveloped and affected, which will definitely act as a hindrance later in life.

Along with the fundamentals, it is vital that students dip their young minds into other pursuits as well. Sports, academic clubs like quiz and debate clubs, theatre, dance, etc all bring out innate qualities and develop vital new ones. Arguably, the more the holistic the education of a child is, the better. This move towards holistic learning can also be reflected in the lives of studengts after school as well. For example, even graduate schools require a sense of inter-disciplanry thinking and knowledge, like the MIT Media Lab. And I am not even going to elaborate on other examples and careers post that. Therefore, it is vital that it shows in our fundamental education as well, before a student takes the ste to go to college.

Lastly, it is also necessary to point out that kids aren't learned or more accurately, mature enough to take such hard decisions. Many develop an affinity after giving their subjects a shot in the first place and discover whole new realms. They also realise its importance later in life. Although these uses may not always be tangible, it is hard to argue against them.

Therefore, to develop a cohesive, holistic, high functioning individual in todays day and age, a sense of multi-disciplanarism is a necessity. A mind which is both analytical and imaginative at requisite levels is better prepared to make prudent decisions later in life. Therefore, it is important for students to learn the fundamentals and be given the choices to pursue their varied interests themselves. The amount of priority they give is best defined with regards to case by case basis.