A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

I do not agree that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. While this strategy may provide a standard measure, by which colleges can compare students for admission, this strategy is much more disadvantageous to individual students' development of interests and unique expressions of self during a time when students should be encouraged to explore a variety of interests. Rather than spending time and effort on adhering to a set national curriculum, students should be urged and allowed to explore individual passions and pursuits that may better serve their long-term goals in life.

For example, a student who is forced to follow a set national curriculum before entering college is restricted to the types of studies that the nation deems important or appropriate. However, from an early age, a student may already have a set idea of various interests that he or she wants to pursue, such as culinary or musical interests. Instead of stifling this interest, a school should provide the appropriate resources for the student to explore and learn more about his or her interests within the school curriculum. From an early age, if a student is allowed to take culinary classes or musical history classes as part of his or her curriculum, it would help the student determine at a much earlier age whether this passion may be a life-long pursuit. Then he or she could start preparing for his or her career earlier and waste less time, effort, and money on extraneous classes.

Even in the alternative case, in which students may not know from an early age what their interests are, a customized curriculum that is not set by the nation can provide much more freedom for the students to explore a variety of subjects and fields that will quicken the process for students to realize what their interests may be. For example, a student who has yet to determine what his or her interests may be can take a customized curriculum that includes a variety of introductory classes to a diverse set of topics, such as art and math and computer programming. Through this exploration of a variety of classes, a student is also given more opportunity to discover their passions and interests at an earlier age.

While having the same national curriculum may seem easier for colleges to pick students for admission at first, considering the alternative provides a much more diverse college population and a better picture of applicants for colleges to choose more wisely. Picking applicants for colleges has become a mundane tasks where students are simply mechanically producing the necessary numbers for admission. Students are reduced to statistics. However, with customized curriculums, colleges can get a more well-rounded picture of a student by seeing their interests through their choices in curriculum.

For example, when a pool of applicants have taken the same nationional curriculum, the only way a college can determine the "best" applicants is by looking at the GPA. This does not reveal much about the individual students, as it only presents an extremely narrow picture of the student. However, if students are allowed to customize their curriculum, a college can look at the types of classes that students picked and excelled in to see whether the student would be a great match for the school's mission and type of student body. For a liberal arts college, a student that excelled in a curriculum that focused in arts would be a better fit than the student who got a 4.0 GPA in a national curriculum but whose interests are in computer science.

For reasons that are advantageous to both students and colleges, a customized curriculum provides both parties with benefits in the long run. Students can explore and discover passions and interests at an earlier age without wasting resources on their part and the colleges'. In addition, colleges can have better and more accurate methods of choosing students who would contribute and flourish better at their institution. For these reasons, I do not think that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.