A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Every nation has a particular curriculum of its own. In most of the countries students are required to study a specific curriculum till high school. For instance in India children study the same courses till class 10 with some nuances like different states have different regional languages which are taught to children of that particular state. The paths diversify once students reach class 11th where they are allowed to choose from a range of fields. Nations all around the globe have almost the same structure with acute differences. The authors statement of having the same curriculum is valid for the most part but it also has some flaws.

The first advantage of having the same curriculum is that this would eliminate discrimination of any form be it sex, caste, religion, race etc. All students would be treated as equal who would have to learn the same course as any other student of his age or class. For example , earlier some schools did not allow girls to study. If they did , girls were taught basic subjects limited to just household problems. There was a huge discrepancy between the subjects taught to boys and girls. This kind of discrimination would be eliminated by same curriculum.

Another plus point is that the poor will get to read the same subjets as the rich students. To cite an example, In Mumbai, there is a school which intakes kids who belong to a socially rich family. They have an excessive fee structure which cannot be afforded by the common man. This school has the best faculty in India and it not only teaches students basic subjects like maths and science but also subjects like philosphy, astronomy and ethics. Juxtaposed to schools like this are the government schools of Mumbai , where leave alone astronomy , even Maths is not taught properly. So this kind of discrepancy could also be sorted by a same curriculum

Now where the same curriculum has it advantages , it also poses a certain disadvantage. This disadvantage is that what if a particular student does not have interest in Science ? He only has his interest in English ? Then what ?

Him studying the extra subjects of physics, biology in class what not come into much effect. And even if he gets to know the basic idea of these subjects, he would never be able to apply that basic knowledge in real life situations. The time taken up by studying so many subjects of disinterest can be utilized instead in getting a strong hold of the subject the student is interested in. In this case, the authors argument does not hold much ground.

In conclusion, Overall the same curriculum may have abundant advantages, but one disadvantage significantly weakens the authors statement.