A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

A national curriculum is, undoubtedly, of great importance to maintain uniformity in the education of its students. This ensures that students from regions of the country are at the same level till they reach college. but to posit that the syllabi being identical in all parts of the country with no regards to the local aspects of education is the right way of ensuring maximum gains for students is a parochial view of the issue.

Taking the example of a country like India, with its plethora of languages and cultures and multitudes of sections in the society, it is challenging to incorporate representation and history of all sects in one singular education curriculum. Therefore, to accommodate all the diversity abundant in Indian society, the localization of education becomes necessary. Unless children learn the customs, practices and history of their area, they might not appreciate them or understand the importance of preserving them. Along with culture, history and traditions, it is also paramount to give children the options to choose additional languages and skills for an efficacious education. The learning abilities of most youngsters peak when they are in high school. Opening up more avenues of knowledge might help shape their minds and also aid them in deciding the career path they want to follow.

A lot of schools in various countries let their students choose what they wish to major in. While I do believe that it is good to have the option of choice, I do believe that it is important to incorporate some basic education in maths and sciences amongst youngsters. I think what is important is finding a middle ground; having a uniform curriculum limits the growth potential of a child, but at the same time letting every region have complete autonomy does not amount to a standardised education system.

Irrespective of whether a child grows up to be a historian or a pilot, he must know elementary maths and science, but for young children to be better equipped to accomplish their goals, they ought to have the opportunity to choose what else they can additionally study. Flexibility in the system is of utmost importance to achieve growth and development.