A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Not all courses are created equal. Education is pretty much generalized in schools of most of the nation. It’s understandable that a nation would want their school goers to study the same national curriculum all over the country, but the notion is not very pragmatic if you think about the cultural and geological deviances in the nation which require deviation from the national curriculum.

It is true that some elements of the national curriculum should be the same for all the students of the nation. For instance, every student should have knowledge about the country’s history which binds the nation together. Everyone in the country should have the correct idea about the origin of their nation and the people behind it who bolstered the nation from the very beginning. This notion demands students to learn about their history no matter what part of the country they live in or where they come from. Also, all the students should have a clear idea about the cultures of their own nation, which require them to study cultural studies in school with the same national curriculum.

While the same national curriculum is necessary for some cases, there are certain things that you cannot ignore which can differ from place to place. For example, geological and cultural differences. There can be certain inherent aspects of the geological characteristics of a place which is unique to that place. For example, coastal areas are prone to natural disasters like tsunami, hurricane, tornado etc. Students from those areas should have the knowledge about those calamities and how to survive them because that’s an inherent aspect of their lives. Therefore, schools should introduce courses like disaster management which may not be necessary for students from other parts of the country. In which case the idea of studying the same national curriculum seems obsolete.

Different parts of a country have different culture and ethnicity which mandate students to learn different sorts of things, in which cases schools should play the role of teaching those things to their students. Which means separate curriculum from the rest of the country. Some parts of the country may have serious drug addiction problems, which requires the students to learn how to keep themselves away from this harmful substance and the crimes associated with it. Again this may not be necessary for everyone in the nation, but just the small portion of students who are severely exposed to it.

Therefore, studying the same national curriculum seems too much eccentric. You can’t generalize the education of a nation for all the school students because it might not be profligate for the whole nation. A nation consists of so many different factors which we should consider first and then decide the proper curriculum considering those factors which have a good chance to be variables in different cases.